We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourside Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourside Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Harbourside Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Duncan Street, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best motel of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Harbourside in Nelson was the best motel out of quite a few we sampled in our 2-week motoring tour of New Zealand. The finish, decor, bathroom, balcony etc were all superior to the rest, the room was quiet, and the light breakfast was precisely to our taste. The proprietors were friendly and helpful. We could not have asked for more.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
29
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

A wonderful warm welcome by the receptionist, it made us feel at home. The rooms are comfortable and adequate. The only downside is there isn't a kitchen sink, washing of any dishes has to be done in the bathroom, but we were able to live past this. Breakfast was adequate, at least the older women kept smiling and filling up the table.

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room it has a lovely view over the harbour. A more mature group of travellers fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhard0753, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a delight to have you here.We encourage our guests to leave the dishes in the rooms and we wash them in our kitchen, as also stated in our compendium. S next time you know :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed at Harbourside Motor Lodge last week, and strongly recommend it. It is a charming and very comfortable hotel in a beautiful location, only a few minutes walk from central Nelson. Our room was very clean and well-appointed and the hotel staff were uniformly helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, and there is a good restaurant next door for lunches and dinners.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the harbour, which was lovely; I think all the rooms have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhard0753, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you so much for this review. I hope you had a great rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

A return visit after two years did not disappoint. The hotel is a little way out of town, but there are several eating places within walking distance, and the peaceful location overlooking the marina makes up for any inconvenience.

Rooms are large and comfortable - most have a balcony. A very acceptable continental buffet breakfast is included in the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhard0753, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you very much. It was great to have you back in our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

When we arrived in Nelson, the I-Site was already closed and the first motels we saw had no vacancies. Therefore we stopped anyway at one of them just to ask if they knew any available place in town and we were advised to go to the Harbourside Motor Lodge.
As its name says, it is in the harbour side of Nelson, in an area that is not central at all and that is somehow empty of people but if you have a car, this is not a problem. On the contrary, the place is really quite, peaceful and pretty charming, especially from the harbour side (there is also a restaurant 50 meters away).
The people who attended us, a young girl and a young man, were very, very kind, nice and friendly. They gave us a very clean and comfortable room which had a glass door on the harbour side. So from the room we could see the water and the boats, which were just at a distance of five or six meters.
The room equipment was modern and well maintained. There wasn't any cooker but there was a microwave and a small fridge if I'm not wrong. Nevertheless breakfast was included in the price, so for us it was not a problem not to have complete cooking facilites like in other motels.
We were very happy to discover this motel and to stay there, as our experience was certainly positive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhard0753, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you very much, you were splendid guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

I am a very fussy traveller and really critical - and I had a brilliant three day stay here in March. Great hospitality; wonderful rooms; firm beds; great view - NO noise from the port after 5pm or before 7 in the morning; lovely Marina views too.
Breakfast (included) was MUCH more than the usual continental and included meats and cheeses; yoghurt; juices; three kinds of cereal; three kinds of toast and LOTS of differnt toast toppings. (Cooked on request and smelt divine but I didn't need the calories!)
Easy to find and park; probably about 15 minutes walk into town but we drove, and the rooms were really clean, well presented and very well appointed.
This is a gem and should be one of the MOST popular places to stay. I would recommend it to everyone. When I drove past the other places we had considered I was so pleased with our clean; private; lovely view and balcony. Stay here - you really will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

HOWEVER dont let them put you in Room 12 if it still has the awning over the doors to the deck. If its at all windy the canvas cover flaps all night and you can tell how hard the wind is blowing by the volume of the noise!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhard0753, Owner at Harbourside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
The awning has been replaced by a metal one now. So no more noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourside Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Motor Lodge

Address: 4 Duncan Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbourside Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Harbourside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourside Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.