We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good motel close to the centre of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palms Nelson

Save Saved
You added Palms Nelson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palms Nelson
5 Paru Paru Road | Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 hotels in Nelson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good motel close to the centre of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a very comfortable stay in this very up to date motel. The bed was particularly comfortable and the room quite spacious.
Some of the upper rooms may lack privacy due to the access way which runs in front of the large window at the front of the room.
Robin help us with recommendations of places to visit.
There is a large supermarket nearby and the centre of town is only a short walk away.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the bed comfortable and room spacious.
Our windows are double glazed and tinted so we try to ensure as much privacy as possible in all rooms.
The supermarket is very handy being right across the road, our guests are always very pleased with the location.
Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
29
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our first experience of NZ motels was excellent thanks to the friendly and helpful staff, the modern design and ambience, the facilities and spaciousness of the Palms. It was also notably quiet.Minor quibbles were that its location, while good for town, was a drive away from the Boatyard and other good restaurants on the bay and the jacuzzi bath did not work ( but how good to supply one! ). Two nights at the Palms was the perfect way to enjoy the spectacular Nelson area and break our journey to the south.

Room Tip: Our room in the corner of the courtyard on the ground floor was particularly quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Well that is lovely to hear, we are so glad to hear that your first impression of NZ motels was excellent from us. All our rooms are double glazed to ensure quietness in all areas of the motel. Regarding the Spa bath we do endeavour to tell everyone who has a spa bath to check above the vanity that the switch marked with spa is down and the bubbles will go.
Thank you for your feedback, We hope to see you again in the future and enjoy your time in New Zealand :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked a one bedroom apartment for 2 nights before our Abel Tasman coastal walk and one night after. This accommodation was ideal as we did not have a car and so getting around town to buy last minute trekking items such as cooking gas was perfect. An additional surprise was the spa bath, which was very welcome after the 4 day trek. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were able to store luggage whilst out on trek. Spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the one bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Its great hearing how our guests have enjoyed their stay and that you found our location perfect and rooms spacious and clean. We hope to see you again in the future :) thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at this motel for two nights. My original thought was to stay only one night but I found it to be so good I stayed a second night as well. The room was exceptionally clean the bed most comfortable the owner was most helpful in guiding me to where I needed to be the shops were close and within walking distance. There was a swimming pool close to the entrance off the road. All staff were most helpful to me well done to Cheyl and Robyn and all staff. Many thanks I will definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hi there, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We love hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and glad that we could help you in guiding you to where you needed to be. Thanks again for your feedback and we will see you when you are over in New Zealand next :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We arrived in Nelson without a reservation and the motels we had thought we might stay at in the city area were booked out. One kindly recommended we try the Palms Motel and I am pleased to say we found accommodation there and it was an absolutely lovely motel.

Spacious upstairs room with opening doors to balcony overlooking motel carpark area, comfortable bed, kitchen facilities, guest laundry, clothes line, swimming pool. A supermarket across the street, and a short walk to city centre restaurants. Reception staff were very helpful in recommending activities and organising a wine tour for us.

I think it was a better location than the motels we had originally looked at and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone staying in Nelson.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us. Our location is defiantly one point our guests love about us as we are so close to the supermarket and town centre.
We hope to see you again sometime soon and thank you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Fantastic location. Supermarket. Shops city centre airports all close by. Great service and helpful staff would book again. Very clean rooms and grounds. Kids enjoyed onsite pool. Walking distance to services. Prompt taxi service area

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for your feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes the location is something we are always receiving pleasing feedback about, and we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms. With the weather warming up the pool is becoming very popular - glad that the kids enjoyed it. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

With our 'usual' accommodation near Trafalgar Park unavailable I booked at Palms as relatives had stayed before and I liked what I saw when visiting.The location was perfect for the Park and town centre,, very clean and tidy and very friendly oblidging staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmsmotel5, Front Office Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Well thank you for choosing us to stay with as your usual accommodation was booked up, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes we are very close to Trafalgar Park which is great when there are events on as well as being so central to town. We hope to see you again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palms Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Nelson

Address: 5 Paru Paru Road | Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nelson, New Zealand.The Palms Motel offers you modern, luxury apartments, with a choice of studio, executive or family suite accommodation.Set in landscaped grounds and located close to all local amenities, the Palms Motel gives the holidaymaker or business person the ideal home away from home. 28 Luxury Units/Apartments22 x Studio units: Floor area - 29 sq. metres each4 x 1 Bedroom luxury suites: Floor area - 36 sq. metres each2 x 2 Bedroom family units: Floor area - 73 sq. metres each Room Amenities:• Spa Baths (in 1 bdrm & 2 bdrm suites) • Sky TV • Kitchens in all Units • King & Queen size beds • Electric Blankets • Iron/ironing boards in all units • Satin-jet showers with massage • Hair dryers • Double glazed windows • Direct dial phones with modem access. Wireless internet available throughout complex • Recliner chairs and large flat screen LCD TVs in all units (in the lounge and for your convenience a smaller flat screen TV is located the bedroom)The fully fenced salt-swimming-pool is solar heated in summer and features a safe toddler’s pool. Also in the pool area is a large electric barbecue and dining area to use at your leisure. There is a guest laundry, plenty of off road parking and we are adjacent to many recreational facilities, for example there is a Supermarket directly across the street, along with Nelson Public Library and the famous Nelson Saturday Market is just 2 minutes walking distance. We are located just 100m from Nelson’s central shopping area with an abundance of choice for cafes restaurants and shopping. Tahuna Beach is just 5 minutes’ drive away.Your Host Cheryl has more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality industry and understands travel and holiday needs intimately. Her aim is to make your stay comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Palms Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palms Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.