We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Park Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   214 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, Nz
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Clean and comfortable, well-appointed units.
Friendly and informative hosts.
Easy walk into town, but quiet even though on a busy road.
The recliners were a nice touch after a tiring day out!
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    48
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
128
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Chelsea Motor Lodge for a couple of nights between hikes. The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds, dining area and great kitchenettes. We had the spa room one night and the tub is wonderful for two people! Lee and Barry were very helpful and went the extra mile to make sure our stay was wonderful. Laundry on site for reasonable cost.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for the review, great to hear that you emerged from your Arthur's Pass hike safe and sound! We hope the luggage was waiting for you in Christchurch, & we look forward to seeing you next time you are 'walking' in this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

here i am back again reviewing this Motor Lodge in Nelson
it is the best place to stay, friendly owners, comfortable rooms and easy walk to central Nelson what else do you want.
the rooms are spacious and well appointed and if you can, get the single room units for a little extra space.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We found Chelsea Park Motor Lodge a great place to stay, Lee and Barry were most helpful and the unit was comfortable and nice and clean.
Very friendly and helpfull moteliers. Would recommend Chelsea Park Motor Lodge as a place to stay.

Room Tip: For older people and anyone with a health problem the ground floor units are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Chelsea Park Motor Lodge as stage two of our week's stay in Nelson. Lee and Barry were both knowledgeable of the local area and gave some great recommendations for eating out.

We were in the executive suite complete with spa bath :-) Room was excellent and spacious with everywhere being immaculately clean and well provisioned.

Lee and Barry tell us that on their upgrade list will be replacing the sofa with a couple of lazy-boy recliners.....that would have made the evening watching movies even better.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that is not far from the main centre, spotlessly clean and run by a friendly team.....then no need to look any further.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It was great to see you in Nelson Carl & Bec - good luck with deciding on the new career path - maybe in Nelson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stay at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge when ever I am in Nelson on business. I find Lee and Barry wonderful friendly hosts. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and most important clean. I would recommend Chealea Park to anyone on business or pleasure staying in Nelson.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks Robert, its great to hear from you when you are here about how things are going in Oxford. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived to Chelsea Park on a cold and rainy evening. We were greeted by the new owner, Barry. We had dinner reservations in town, that we were planning to cancel because we did not want to walk in the rain. Barry offered to drive us and pick us up after dinner. Hard to beat that kind of service. He then carried our bags to our room. A wonderful 2 bedroom apt. It was a bit older, but very well appointed. We were able to use the laundry and head out to dinner.
The location is very good and it is hard to beat that kind of service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

Address: 214 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chelsea Park Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge is a Qualmark rated 4 Star + motel, located in central Nelson city. Our boutique motel has only 10 units, all with kitchen facilities, free high speed WIFI and SKY Guest Select with over 50 channels. Our guests tell us we have a clean and luxurious motel with the most comfortable beds and best showers ever! With the tourist attractions of Nelson and surrounds on our doorstep, Lee & Barry look forward to hosting you and providing for your accommodation needs. For the best rates and no booking fees, book direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chelsea Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Chelsea Park Hotel
Nelson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.