We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for nelson visitors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum

World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum
Cadillac Way Off Quarantine Rd, Nelson 7040, New Zealand
+64 3-547 4573
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Nelson
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World of WearableArt and Classic Cars Museum is an iconic Nelson visitor attraction that celebrates two passions united by design. Amazing Wearable works of Art from the annual WOW Awards Show are displayed alongside one of Australasia's biggest private collections of rare, Classic Cars. The Museum also includes a Cafe renowned for it's tasty, healthy treats, a Retail Store full of NZ art and jewelry designs, and the ever-changing Reflections Art Gallery. Open every day 10am - 5pm (except Christmas Day)
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good for nelson visitors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Interesting collections but stand-offish staff and no good for repeat visits (the collections are all quite similar throughout the years.) But if you are a visitor to Nelson I would recommend it.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    112
    20
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A totally inspiring visit for two crafty people who have experienced the WOW show in Wellington. The ability to see creations up close made the experience of the show all the more intriguing. Classic cars were a delight for husband in tow.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Unusual format for a museum, worth the visit. Amazing talented costume creations! (i did not go into the car part)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“World class exibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Took our Swiss visitors to WOW, they were astonished that Nelson could produce such a sophisticated show. Amazing creations, each different from the other. Loved the bizarre bra section.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A must see for all ages.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I had heard about the WOW show in Wellington and was disappointed that I would be leaving New Zealand before the show started so I was pleased, when quite by accident, I stumbled upon the WOW & Classic Cars Museum on my way into Nelson. It was amazing. The costumes were displayed on models on a moving conveyor belt with a description of each one -fascinating. There was also an AV display showing the costumes in the WOW show. I could have stayed a lot longer but had arrived at 3 pm and it closed at 5. I had a quick look around the Classic Cars exhibition but the WOW display was a show-stealer. Please bring the show & display to the UK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World of WearableArt & Classic Cars Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.