We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments to your Saves list
Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   10 Richardson St. | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed in the Loft for a long weekend. It completely exceeded our expecations. Beautiful rooms, private, spacious and light with a truly great view and feel. Very well appointed with breakfast options on arrival. Hosts, Graham and Jenny were very friendly and helpful. Definitely be back

  • Liked — Spacious, light, great views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn,UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed here just before Xmas. When we stepped through the door we felt at home.The loft apartment was a wonderfully light and spacious place, very tastefully decorated with the owner Jenny's textile designs. Every amenity was catered for including laundry facilities, guide books, reading material, music and in spite of there being some good waterfront restaurants very close by , the view over the sea and the mountains were better from our room.With so much good wine & food to choose from in the locality we took advantage of the apartment's excellent cooking facilities and the great balcony instead of eating out. The fridge was well stocked with homemade lemonade and breakfast provisions which were also very good, including Graham's home made muesli. A real find.
Steph & Pete, Blackburn, England

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

We recently spent 5 nights at Villa 10 from 22/10/08. The views are excellent, the location was perfect for the Arts and Crafts Festival and the art in the house was really good. In addition we both loved the muesli.
The only alteration we would make is to install a blind on the kitchen window. The neighbours in the house opposite spent most of their time sitting at their kitchen table looking out the window.
We would definitely stay there again.

Peter and Janice

  • Liked — views, access, art
  • Disliked — no blind on the kitchen window
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamVilla10_Nelson, owner at Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review, December 8, 2008
Thanks for you constructive feedback.. Today jenny and I fitted blinds to the kitchen windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at the end of our stay in Nelson, NZ. Couldn't have picked a better place, we were blown away by the total package. The first thing noticed was the view of the ocean, outstanding. The "loft"apartment was stocked well with "starter" food, it was spacious and colorful, comfortable, very clean, very well equipped in the kitchen,had excellent electronics and the wireless internet was included in the price. Graham, who was managing at the time, was good at suggesting tour companies and where to shop, etc.
You may want to book early. Minimum two night stay. The location is close to the seawall walk and is about 4 min drive to the city center. Street parking is available and not crowded. The bed is comfortable and the shower\toilet\sink room is large.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

Lovely apartment overlooking the sea on a hill above the attractive town of Nelson. The owners are very friendly and even stock the fridge for you, the decor is just beautiful - as the other review says, exactly like staying in half of someone's impeccably furnished 100 year old house

Good value too, and has all facilities - washer, dryer, cooking facilities etc. I'd far rather stay here than any hotel

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2005

Villa 10 is two fully furnished apartments overlooking Tasman Bay. We stayed in the loft, which sleeps 2 - 4. The decor is stylish, cheerful, and often hand-made by the wonderful, friendly owner, Jenny. It's like someone giving you the top half of their house! We had one large and one tiny bedroom, a very nice kitchen stocked with eggs, cereal, juice, coffee, milk, etc., and best of all, magnicifent views from every room. There's a great little balcony where we spent much of our time. Several restaurants are within a 5 minute (hilly) walk, and the town center is about 5 minute drive away. The cost was reasonable and definitely the best value we found in New Zealand. Their email is ----------.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments

Address: 10 Richardson St. | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian Villa over looking Tasman Bay to the mountains of Kahurangi National Park contains two private and self contained luxury apartments. 'The Loft' suitable for couples, 'The West Wing' accommodates up to five. Both include fully equipped kitchen, and laundry, living area with SKY TV, free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa 10 Waterfront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.