We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Nelson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Nelson to your Saves list
Quality Inn Nelson
3.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   40 Waimea Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

On a quick holiday and just dropped in to this hotel,got a good rate $185.The room was large and well appointed,restaurant was a nice surprise,food great.I see some reviews say its far out of town,they must be a bit lazy no more than a 10 minute walk,they should try walking around my home town to their hotel!.Staff here were helpfull.the place had a couple of small niggles but I dont sweat the small stuff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
11
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

There was nothing wrong in this hotel. However, it is not very "fascinating". It is similar to a USA - Style Motel. A few services, position not very good; very quiet and clean. A good place where to stay no more than one night. The room was big and everything worked without any problems. The bathroom was ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
647 reviews 647 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
556 helpful votes 556 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Known also as the Quality Inn Leisure Lodge (under Choice Hotels) we thought that we would get away from the normal chain brands. It was not a bargain by any means but as the saying goes 'you get what you pay for'.

This hotel looks new, feels new and for the most part it is top-notch condition throughout. The only reason it didn't get a five rating was because of a noise and cigarette smoke issue.

Reception and check in was great, you couldn't get a friendlier greeting than we received. She even asked us what we had planned and was full of ideas and brochures to help us out.
Our room was on the second level near the front restaurant and main road.
We had asked for and were given a quiet area with no neighbours for the night (until we opened the windows).

The room layout is fantastic with a large queen bed, LCD TV, table and chairs,adequate kitchen area (with enough utensils for a small meal), a huge bathroom with spa and shower over the bath,plenty of hot water and a large vanity with great amenities. There is a balcony with table and chairs outside the glass door that looked out over to other rooms in the next block.

Everything throughout was spick and span and we really could not fault anything within the room. Our only problem with this room was that it backed onto a small narrow courtyard between the buildings. We had both the kitchen and the bathroom windows open for fresh air. Unfortunately it was also the area the restaurant staff used to smoke and talk loudly in for both the dinner and breakfast hours. Compounding this, was a large air con compressor that cut in and out all night. Everything was magnified in such a small corridor and the cigarette smoke drifted in through the open windows.
So the windows had to be closed and the room air con put on which wasn't really needed on the night we stayed.

Apart from the noise it was still a great hotel in a good location to the main part of town. It was a two-minute drive to McDonalds and the shopping precinct of this lovely city.
We would use this hotel again if back in Nelson and just ask for a room away from the restaurant.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: If you prefer a bit of rest and quiet,ask for a room away from the main road and hotel restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I paid $129 for a one night stay here. My room was back from the road, quiet and well appointed. The front desk staff were very polite and helpful. The beds were comfortable, my only complaint about the room is that the shower head was a bit odd - the water ran very close to the wall. It was nice to get give a small bottle of milk (in my choice of low fat or regular) at check in to go with coffee (there was a plunger etc. in the room). $5 for 20 meg of WiFi internet was very handy too. If you don't have a car be aware that the lodge is in a "strip" of hotels etc. that are bit out of the central business district. So not at your doorstep if you're walking - I walked to town though and it probably too minutes.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have used this motel many times for accommodation and also for training in their coomference rooms. The accommodation is brilliant, and now they even have a bar and restaurant at the front of this large complex. It is quiet and the beds are great.
Today I had another training session but unfortunately for Leisure Lodge they have hired a staff member who was so rude, not once but at least 3 times that we will not be using this facility again....that is if they don't take advice to get rid of her quick smart. Such a shame...and by the way isn't the customer always right?

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed here for 3 weeks while I was working a temp job. Great location and easy to access with its U-shaped driveway. Plenty of space to park your car. Has coin-operated washing machine and dryer facilities as well as a swimming pool and BBQ area that is unfortunately closed over winter. Wifi available too at $5 for the first 20MB and then 10c per MB thereafter and per sheet of paper printed. Rates are reasonable. Great room service - they will even wash your dishes and scrub your pots! Restaurant and bar allowed me to catch the Rugby on my days off with a $4 surcharge for meals being delivered to your room. Only downside is the lack of a fan in the kitchen which means a lot of steam builds up when you are cooking and condenses on the walls leading to water dripping down the walls. Otherwise great service from a great hotel in a sunny town. Recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This hotel has potential, with nicely appointed big rooms and grounds. This hotel even has an on-site restaurant. However, I had some trouble during the check in process where the front desk staff who was helping me didn't seem to know how the check in process works and caused quite a bit of confusion and frustration. Maybe that was just one staff, but maybe not. I was also somehow able to exceed the internet allowance without being notified and was charged a fee. The fee was nominal because I didn't exceed the allowance that much. But the charge could have been a lot more I guess if I used a lot more internet than I thought - could be an issue. Last, the hotel is also a little on the pricy side for what it is (a semi-upscale hotel), maybe that is true of all the hotels in Nelson however. Because of the above, I may or may not stay here again in the future and hesitate to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Nelson

Address: 40 Waimea Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Inn Nelson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.