We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edible Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tongtara Thai Restaurant

Tongtara Thai Restaurant
142 Hardy Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand (Formerly Massaman Lamb Shanks)
035488997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 143 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rotorua NZ
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Edible Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I dined at the Tontara last week while visiting Nelson, We had the Massaman lamb shank (two!) dinner - it was incredibly good - and filling! It is our usual Thai meal and we have eaten it in restaurants all over the world, this was probably ranking among the best. The service was friendly and fast, with every care to make sure you did not have to look far for a waitress. Brilliant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lovely Thai food would recommend, very good service. Both my husbands curry and my pad thai were very well flavoured, the starters were good although the spring rolls were a bit small.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai in nelson in my opinion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Loved this place, great service, delicious food and well priced. recommended :-) will go again for sure.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The noodles were very tasty but the curry too sweet.The portions were large.The place wasn't flash but the service was good and they had free wifi.Not the place to go if you are looking for good curry.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lamb Shank curry worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Got a recommendation to try out this new thai place and especially the Massaman Lamb Shank. The shank was great, very tender and a tasty cury, and huge as it was 2 shanks with over 1 of them leftover for the next day. We had a Mussel soup to start which was very good as well, fresh plump mussels and spicy soup.

Service is fine, and the restaurant itself has a nice feel to it, very open and warm. Cheap BYO at $6 or $8 too with good glasses.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongtara Thai Restaurant also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Tongtara Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tongtara Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.