We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clinker Cafe

The Clinker Cafe
15 Beechnest Drive | St Arnaud, Nelson, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 130 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kapiti Coast, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Alpine Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is the place for a good coffee (on a cold morning!), a good meal, or some amazing baking. The spacious but simple inside is mirrored by a similar outside deck (though it was too cool in autumn to dine out). We had several morning coffee here - the staff are very friendly - and huge freshly baked cheese scones. We also booked for the Saturday night buffet, which was spectacular in it's 'home-made' feel, range (including fresh local salmon, beef and pork) and warmth on a cold night. The dessert buffet was impressive, and very popular with children! A hub for St Arnaud - residents and visitors.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Oh my gosh. Ordered a dry muffin, a slice and a small bowl of hot chips worth $10.00. On having the chips delivered, I actually asked if that was the large fries, and was offered some more. The adult male did really well bringing some more out to which I would commend. But please, new patrons, beware, there aren't many fries in a $10 bowl. At a guess, less than half a scoop full. Kids as young as around 8 years of age to maybe 12, delivering food to tables, with numbers, and not knowing where to deliver. Sure there were some cold dishes delivered that day. We were offered drinks and food, that weren't ours, even with table number clearly displayed. Soups not available for Sunday lunch. Summary: Clinker don't cope with stress of lots of customers. Cafe not full, but staff seem stressed and unable to handle many customers at one time. Waited a long time for one of our friends meals of corn chips and avocado, then even longer for coffees for them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clinker Cafe fresh and bright but constantly poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I often travel to this Cafe with a motorbike group. I have never had a positive experience and today was just shocking. The service really leaves you gasping for breath. I really do hate complaining, but time after time when I have dined or just stopped for a coffee the service just isn't up to it.

Young children bringing out drinks and plates of food looking totally lost as to where to go, what tables to deliver to, even with order numbers placed on the table.

A $10 large fries looks less than a scoop from a takeaway shop at $3.50! We did end up with a free extra plate of fries, but they were dripping with oil and were quite tasteless. We even had to clear our own table before sitting down.

It was a beautiful sunny day and the cafe was very busy. On ordering our food and drinks we had to repeat ourselves several times and had to ask 3 times to have our coffee card stamped and were only going to get one stamp for 2 coffees ordered.

It appears that the management just can't cope when it gets busy.

Nelson lakes is a popular tourist destination and many local Nelson people travel there for a day out and to take visitors to.

In future when our club heads there, I will take my own food and drink and sit outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Welcome addition to St Arnaud/Nelson Lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our host at Nelson Lakes Motel pointed us here for coffee on our recent Easter trip, and from what we saw and experienced during our brief visit, we were very impressed.
Well built, nicely landscaped complex of buildings; warm and comfortable interior, nice welcome; good coffee and a top scone, according to my partner.
Would definitely like to check it out for lunch and/or an evening meal next time we're in St Arnaud.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kone, Nouvelle-Calédonie
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had diner on a busy Saturday night in St Arnaud. The food is absolute quality (even if the mud cake is not muddy but quite solid), portions are great. The garlic bread is absolutely FANTASTIC!! One of the dessert didn't come out on time but without us asking for anything, they gave us a 50% discount on it which is great customer service. Definitely a place to try if you are staying in St Arnaud.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clinker Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Clinker Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clinker Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.