We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service is impeccable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masa's Restaurant & Sake Bar

Masa's Restaurant & Sake Bar
306 Hardy Street, Nelson, New Zealand
3 548 1887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 119 restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service is impeccable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Keep up the good work ! Excellent food perfect service so lucky to live so close to a such a great resteraunt will back every week !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    13
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you love sushi, than you must go to Masa's!
It was the third time we were here, all on different days of the week and also during peak hours in the weekend. But this doesn't influence the quality, freshness or taste of the food. It's simply fantastic, it was perfect on all 3 occasions.
We mostly choose the chef's plate, a big platter of several sushi and sashimi treats, accompanied with some veggie tempura. The fish is very fresh, it's presented nicely and the taste just great, tasteful and authentic.
The second time we were at Masa's we also had a main course, the fish of the day and chicken teriyaki. Both dishes were absolutely beautiful, tasty and flavorsome.
Complementary green tea is always served, a friendly gesture of the restaurant.

The staff is very friendly and attentive, the atmosphere in the restaurant is simple and clean.
Overall very good, very fairly priced and delicious food. We'll be back soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SO IMPRESSED!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I consider myself somewhat of a connaisseur of Japanese food. I eat it when ever I can but living remotely in the South Island, we don't get too many opportunities and a weekly basis. On a road trip earlier this year we stumbled across Masa's. We were blown away with the service and food. It was brilliant. We shared some rolls and the share platter. (I'm pregnant, so no sashimi this time). We wanted to come back the next day for lunch or dinner but it was shut, being a Monday. I have told ALL friends heading that way to go to Masa's. We can't wait to get back there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Value, flavour, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The other reviewers did not lie - you can trust this place to deliver: on good food, good service, good value. Lovely fresh ingredients, genuine Japanese dishes, all at a good price and with friendly, efficient service. We were particularly impressed when, after several starters and entrees, we asked for two plates to share a main - and they brought out two separate, beautifully presented plates, one for each of us. Complimentary green tea is a nice touch too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the second time that we have been to Masa's, and the food has been excellent on both occasions. The staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. The dishes are presented beautifully, everything is fresh and very tasty. We will definitely go here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masa's Restaurant & Sake Bar also viewed

 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Masa's Restaurant & Sake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masa's Restaurant & Sake Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.