We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish food, attentive staff, ok location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eatalian Nelson - CLOSED

Eatalian Nelson
hardy and Morrison Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delish food, attentive staff, ok location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely gnocchi with blue cheese & walnuts, great grouper, wonderful chicken Marsala,& delish ravioli. Wonderful restaurant within Nelson city for a group or , if weather permits, outside under the heaters. Also ok for an intimate dinner for 2...we had a great meal, all 9 of us, & the charming older handsome man who took care of us was the best!!!
And the wait staff was attentive...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Nelson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

So there is no need to try anywhere else. The pastas are great. The gnocchi with porcini sauce can easily become a regular favourite dish. Good lunch menu too. Great value true Italian cuisine in Nelson! Must make that dinner reservation before we leave.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLE VALUE AND QUALITY!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I visit Italy often ( but not often enough......) and aside from a few eateries in Portofino and Taoromina, this restaurant is as good as any.The menu offers Fantastic pasta combined with beautiful sauces as well as traditional italian cuisine.
We had a luncheon special ($16NZ) of Linguine in pesto that was AMAZING!! Easily the best I have had (other than my wife's of course)..........OH and it INCLUDED a glass of white italian wine.
Simply unbeatable value and quality in a nice outdoor environment accompanied by pleasant and efficient service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

really nice decor service was freindly and welcoming, the food so fresh you really felt like it was made with love. great menu.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Taste Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We went to eatitalian last night with good friends mike and yolande they had the risotto I had the spicy meatballs and she who must be obeyed, the ravioli. Our bread starter were tastie. The table service was excellent, we sat outside and as the sun went down the ladies were offered pashmarie scarfs , a nice touch. I just felt the portion sizes were on the small side considering the rustic theme. This also reflects on the 'value for money' aspect of the experience
Hard to be critical of chefs standard of presentation and quality of food but a little more on the plate would go along way to redressing the balance.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eatalian Nelson also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eatalian Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.