We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury you can afford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sails Nelson to your Saves list
The Sails Nelson
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Special Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Drysdale
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Luxury you can afford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Sails' proprietors Max and Robin have every right to be proud of their five-start rating. They clearly worked hard and long on designing and outfitting both the motel as a whole and the individual rooms; and they now work hard and long to make guests' stays memorably pleasant.

As you might guess from the title, Sails has a nautical/maritime theme, but that means much more than blue and white paintwork with an old fishing net on the wall! Instead, subtler touches to the decor are just enough to lift it out of the merely 'bright and light'. Each room has a constructed beach scene in a large glass bowl (which looks much nicer than my description!), together with small hand-painted pictures/collages of beaches. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are comfortable, the beds are a dream and - hooray! - each double room has TWO armchairs!

Sails is outside of the very centre of Nelson, which means that you can't just walk out into town life - but nor can you hear a single street sound when it's time for bed. Incidentally, when we stayed at Sails, the other guests were remarkably quiet, too - something that money doesn't always buy.

Finally, make a point of remembering to order your breakfast by the deadline - 8.00 pm the previous night. On a couple of occasions we were out all day and returned too late to order, so we missed the enormous omlettes that had kick-started our other mornings.

Room Tip: The rooms are on two floors and I didn't see a lift, so bear that in mind when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks for taking time out to write a review. We believe that our Motel is the best place to stay in Nelson also, but we would say that, because we own it.It was a pleasure to have you here, and hope we can be apart of the Nelson experience, that will make want to come back. Again Robyn and i thank you very much for your kind words. Regards Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    28
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
30
238
16
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Sails might be a new motel but the quality of the property is such that it is hard to imagine that it will be anything but excellent for years to come. That quality is perfectly matched by the friendliness of Robyn and Max and their fantastic service levels. Everything about the rooms are superior but the sumptuous beds cry out for a mention. In the ratings for sleep quality below they need an Excellent Plus rating! Funnily it was many of the little things that added the delight such as the great quality teas and plugging my ipod into the quality sound system. Similarly, although we walked a lot (to 4 fabulous Nelson restaurants and the best market in the country) I thought thoughtfull add-ons such as the courtesy car and the bikes were great touches. Nelson is full of motels and I have stayed at many of them but Sails has obviously set about building up lots of points of difference in every aspect of the business that make it a very impressive overall package. I would certainly recommend Sails.

Room Tip: We had a great studio upstairs at the rear - loved the balcony - both Trafalgar St at this end and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Robyn and myself would like to thank you for your glowing review, and we are grateful that you took the time out to write to tripadvisor .We love meeting people and get great satisfaction from guests leaving us with a memorable experience. Thanks you gain for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great room - large, brand new, nice bathroom, nice bed, balcony and other accessories. Location was very close to city center. Owned and operated by a very nice couple that looked after our every need. Beautiful room for the price

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Manager at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to post a review on tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we would like to thank you for booking at The Sails.Robyn and i love to meet new and interesting people and feel very proud of our new complex. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and maybe we will see you again when in Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the treatment we recieved was wonderful. The owners, Max and Robyn, were friendly, helpful and could not do any more to ensure our stay was comfortable, memorable and relaxing. The staff were friendy, happy and quietly effecient. The next time I'm in Nelson, I know where I'm going to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. I know that we are new, and that the standards of our complex speak for them selves,but Robyn and i enjoy meeting people from all walks of life, and want to make sure that everybody enjoy's there stay in Nelson, and our Motel. I was a pleasure to have you stay, and hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Max and Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed just one night and I did not want to leave. Every aspect of the suite was top quality. The bed was luxurious and I was happy to wake in the night just to bask in how sumptuous it was.The shower was powerful and the towels, so very thick. It was the details that struck me, like the art on the walls, the well stocked mini and snack bar, the loose leaf herbal teas. Max and Robyn are sooo nice, thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for your great review. It's not hard to look good in this fantastic Nelson . It does half the work for us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope to see you next time, when down south... Thanks again Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Found this on the net, what a good find, nice people own it, and have made it a very high quality motel, and it is equal to most 4 or 5 star hotels I have stayed in all over the world, and alot better than some so called 4 or 5 star hotels.
Nice decor, good high quality furnishings and very comfortable bed and very good quality linen and pillows.
TV was huge with a great selection of channels, not normal for many hotels in NZ.
They have a courtesy car if you need to be dropped anywhere, and the owners are very polite and hospitable people.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Studio suite is very cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to be of service, and hope to see you again in "Sunny " Nelson. Hope that your trip back to Auckland was a nice drive. We take pride in our complex, and enjoy the meeting of guests, like yourself, from around the world.
Again thanks for your kind thoughts, and great pictures. Max and Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This week we had the pleasure of staying at the Sails Motel in Nelson.
We were just passing through Nelson and friends recommended we stay at the Sails. We are so pleased we took their advice. The Sails is situated just a stones throw from the lovely city of Nelson with all it's great attractions - it's really easy to find situated on the quieter end of Trafalgar street overlooking the park. Max and Robyn made us feel so welcome - they are such great hosts. The rooms are so clean and have all the facilities you want in a motel when your'e on holiday. The in room wifi was really fast and easy to use. The bed is soooo cosy and the room was incredibly quiet. The highlight , though , was the courtesy car - they call it Big Red. It's a great wee car that took us to all the places in the city we needed to get to - and is a lot of fun to drive.
We will be back to Nelson - and wil DEFINATELY be staying at the Sails. Thanks Max and Robyn for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thanks again for your glowing review. We pride ourselves on always trying to satisfy our guests. What we lack in local knowledge (only been in Nelson 2 months), we hope we can make up in service, and pride of our product. Thanks again, and hope to see you soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sails Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.