We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Albert Backpackers

Save Saved
You added The Prince Albert Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Prince Albert Backpackers
113 Nile Street, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty lodging in Nelson
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great hostel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Maybe the best hostel I've been to. Not so many rooms, but lots of space to relax and hangout, a garden, hammocks, big TV room, a computer with free internet use, free wifi, free breakfast... And the best is the owner guy, super friendly and eager to help organize activities without being pushy. The only downside was the room itself: directly above the restaurant garden and the window did not shut properly, so quite loud. Overall, great for a hostel.

Room Tip: the room above the restaurant is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The place was very clean and the free breakfast with free waffles was so good!!!
Really well situated close to the central city.
We enjoyed a long walk beside the river which it's 5 min walking from the backpackers.
The next day we used the free bike ( beautiful ones, actually!) to explore the beach!
The new owners are just great, we can feel they are in love with the place.
It's impossible not to love the place to!
Thank you: we are coming back ASAP!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Couldn't really fault this place. Staff were all so friendly. Free breakfast and wifi drink and meal deals in the pub for guests. $10 meals were the good meals from the menu not a cheaper alternative used for the deals from we had. Free breakfast including waffles dishes washed for guests. Pub downstairs was lovely, clean and new looking and not at all unwelcoming. We stayed in a double ensuite so lovely and clean. Big enough with a powerful shower. Wished we could have stayed more than a night. Such a great sleep and comfy double bed. Thank you for having us and we highly recommend you guys!

Room Tip: Get a double ensuite great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is really such a nice place! One of the best Backpackers I've been to so far!

The location is good, little walk from the city centre, but still not too far. The place is nice, rooms are very clean and offer enough space. Beds are also ok. The rooms have great ensuite bathrooms. But there are more toilets downstairs, if you need one :-) I really liked the big windows in the rooms, we always had fresh air and much light.

The facilities are clean and you've got everything you need. Kitchen, common room, places to eat. They have a nice outside area to sit and hammocks to chill in. Kitchen could be bigger, but that's not a big point.

What we really enjoyed was the free breakfast. They had waffles,what can I say more... Big, big plus factor :-) The free wifi worked good, it's always cool, when a Backpackers offers that. Moreover they have bikes which you can use for two hours without charge and the bikes are actually awesome!

But what I liked most, was the fact that you notice that the owners really take care. They want to provide good accommodation and they want people to like their place. They are very friendly, helpful and committed to their hostel.
They try hard to arrange everything pleasant and pretty. I liked the owl decoration and the blackboard where you can look up things to do.

I hope that they'll have a good payoff and can maintain this high standard!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vang Vieng
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay! Awesome owner as well! Definitely stay there! Free breakfast and Wifi! Nice staff!!! Best place i ever stayed! Cheap beer and a lot of other backpackers! And the bus is leaving At the front of the hostel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent stay, Mike and Nani are so friendly and helpful. They helped us organise transport to and from the Abel Tasman and stored our extra gear until we got back. The facilities were well set out and everything was very clean. Thanks so much for an awesome stay in Nelson, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

One of the best backpackers I have stayed at in New Zealand. The owners are very friendly and help out however they can. The rooms are clean and all have an attached bathroom, so at most you are sharing with 6 people. They offer free breakfast (waffles, cereal, toast, orange juice/coffee.tea), free internet/wi-fi, and free to cheap bikes depending on how long you want to ride. It is a close walk into the Nelson city center, although the beach is a little ways off (there is a bus though). I've stayed at a few hostels in Nelson and would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Prince Albert Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Albert Backpackers

Address: 113 Nile Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince Albert Backpackers & Bar is centrally located in Nelson City. Our Heritage class building is located only minutes away from everything Nelson has to offer including mountain biking, hiking, natural swimming pools, arts and crafts and the famous Saturday Markets. The Prince Albert Backpackers and hostel provides today's travellers with the very best in modern facilities and accommodation including free unlimited WiFi and a free daily breakfast, while the locals bar and restaurant allows friendly interaction between the Nelsonites and the backpacker traveller.We have a range of rooms from 6 bed dorms, 4 bed share rooms, twins, and doubles. All of our rooms have en-suite facilities along with laundered and pressed linens and duvets. The backpackers uses a secure electronic keycard access system. Our guests also enjoy the exclusive use of a private sunny courtyard, private lounge, private kitchen and laundry facilities.Other facilities that you will find here at The Prince Albert Backpackers include a games room with Fussball, Darts, Ping Pong & Air Hockey, cruiser style bikes free of charge to explore Nelson and for the more adventurous individual we have quality mountain bikes for hire at the cheapest rate in town. With our free luggage storage you can also make The Prince Albert Backpackers your base-camp hostel to explore the 3 national parks within 1 1/2 hours from Nelson including the beautiful Abel Tasman and the alpine National Lakes.Factor in the discounts you will receive around town with our branded Prince Albert Backpackers wristband and we truly believe that once you have stayed with us you will seriously consider staying just that little bit longer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your The Prince Albert Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince Albert Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.