We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fresh food,great coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet As Cafe

Sweet As Cafe
Trafalfar Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 130 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: http://www.sweetascafe.com/
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.sweetascafe.com/
Rotorua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious fresh food,great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thankfully stumbled upon this wee shop looking for a tasty brunch and we were not disappointed.Coffee beans supplied by Zumo (a special blend), fantastic coffee! Friendly helpful staff and a small but varied menu had every taste covered.Portions generous and all the food made fresh on site. Pastries and sweets a speciality and also a wonderful selection of hand made chocolates.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food at affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pleasantly surprised that we had found a place with a menu which was different, tasted good and was not expensive like so many eateries. The food was really tasty and well presented and perfectly adequate with a good variety of choices. The establishment had a really relaxed atmosphere with magazines to read over a coffee. The coffee was good and not at all bitter like so many I had had while in Wellington. Another good feature was that the toilets were really top class and clean which is a real bonus. I would highly recommend eating at the Sweet As in Nelson.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Pastries!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love a place which replicates the very civilised way of pastries, biscuits and coffee. This place does this very well and the prices are fantastic. Get a table, a coffee and home made butter cookie for less than $4. The Thai owners are fantastic. Thumbs up!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Girls Movie Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We headed to Sweet As for a late hot chocolate and sweet treat following a movie. The owners were friendly and the portions of slice large, most of us took part of our food home. Cool art on the walls when we went.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Yummy cakes, freshly squeezed juices and a range of hot options. Great spot on the main street. This is the first cafe I have seen that serves caramel anzac slice one of my alltime fave recipes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet As Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Sweet As Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet As Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.