We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service at reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flames on 40

Flames on 40
40 Waimea Road, Nelson, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 117 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly service at reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful service. Excellent meals of a generous size at a reasonable price and didn't have to wait long for the meals either.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“nice meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

we reserved a table for 2 and dined here for dinner. the staff were very accomodating to my gluten free needs. the food was delicious and well presented

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A beautiful breakfast - eggs were just out of the hens by the taste - they were awesome and cooked to perfection.... I also spotted a beetroot, roasted radish and cheese muffin on the counter and brought that home with me - strange mixture - you just have to have one of them - it was amazing.......

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a group of 6 and everyone was very pleased with their meals. Flavours were good and the mains were good value for money (although the entree salad could have been slightly bigger). Staff were also friendly and accommodating. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Secret Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Didn't know this "hideaway" existed till invited to share a meal with fellow guest as I was actually headed for city restaurant. Value for money was tops with the presentation and quality of meal excellent - in fact my partner reckons she has never had a better steak meal. Good size and the surroundings and senior staff were excellent. Found a great spot!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flames on 40 also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Flames on 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flames on 40, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.