We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters

Save Saved
You added The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   41 Whitby Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 57 Nelson B&B and Inns
Portola Valley, CA
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

One of the best and most relaxing places we have ever stayed. It is located up a hill amidst wonderful folliage. The cottages are decorated in excellent taste and everything you could want seems to on hand. The Nautical theme and historical photos give you a real feel for the location and the town of Nelson. But the view of the harbor commands your attention. From your windows you can watch sailboats and shipping and on the decks listen to the birds. A must if you can!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Dated furnishings, with a horrible bathroom (stainless steel shower that you have to duck to get under). Needs new bedding (a bit stuck in the 80's). Needs new carpet. Sofa uncomfortable. Great views. Naff pillows. Liked the quirky sailor touches. Nobody meets you or says goobye. Cobwebs. Generally dirty (Carpet, mould around sink). Several lights did not work. Old fanshioned. Please note that the score is in comparison to 14 other hotels/B&Bs we stayed in during a 3 week trip to NZ (this is the only one we have not scored a 4 or a 5 star)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim041, Manager at The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters, responded to this review, December 7, 2009
We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that our decor wasn't to your liking. We have taken your comments on board regarding the cleanliness and carpet and have moved quickly to correct these issues. New carpet is going down this week and as a team we have reviewed our cleaning procedures. Sorry the owners missed you with greetings. They make every effort to meet all the guests, but might miss the guests if they are out. We like to offer the independent traveller a bit of privacy. We are always contactable by phone from within the accommodations and would have appreciated your comments earlier so that we could have made your stay more enjoyable. We pride ourselves on offering a fabulous place to stay in a fantastic location and will continue to strive to exceed visitor expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

Wow! What a spot. Beautiful views, this is a great little house with plenty of amenities. Friendly staff, and an excellent value. You'll need a car to get to town, but if you have rented a car, this place is a great value. You'll be impressed!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

as we were visiting my dad for the first time i was looking for something not far from him, i found the wheelhouse inn on the internet, we stayed 8 nights in the captain qtrs and then 8 nights in the crows nest, both of them were absolutely brilliant, the views over the bay were breath taking we were all blown away by them even my 2 teenage boys, the hosts were wonderful, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We (2 couples) stayed at Crows Nest for 2 nights. (my husband & I had stayed at Chart House main deck a year earlier and had been blown away by how fabulous the accommodation was. We wanted to share our experience with our friends). Our stay was unsurpassable - another set of friends who had been forced to book elsewhere were green with envy! There is simply nowhere else we would choose to stay in Nelson. You really do need to have a car if you visit Nelson - this accommodation would be less suitable without one.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

we booked this at the last minute, having got it out of our Rough Guide. If you want to go book in advance as it shouldn't be missed. We hadn't looked at the website prior to booking so were not 100% sure what we were getting but it was amazing. we had the Wheelhouse, 2 bedrooms a full kitchen and the most amazing view. As for the price it is the bargain of the century.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

A lovely place and I would highly recommend to everyone. Great accommodation which could not be better with the most amazing views.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters

Address: 41 Whitby Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular sea views, private, quiet bush setting. All day sun. Only minutes to Nelson city and the beach. Fully self-contained, fantastic outdoor area or deck with outdoor furniture and bbq. Spacious lounge/dining areas with TV,DVD,CD,stereo,high speed broadband. Washing machine and dryer and off-street parking. Within 1 1/2 hours to Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.