We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reviewers are a curious lot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trampers Rest

Trampers Rest
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trampers Rest
Save
You added Trampers Rest to your Saves list
31 Alton Street, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“reviewers are a curious lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

There are, according to the current BBH handbook, some 275 backpackers accommodations in NZ. For many years, Trampers Rest has always been rated in the top 10. I've stayed there half dozen times; always - ALWAYS - have I left feeling 100% about every aspect of my stay. (And I am an extremely critical sort!) One of the reviewers here - the only Kiwi till now: quite telling, that - obviously had an extraordinary large and aggravating boil on his fundament (he actually believed he should have been given a free stay - blimey!!). Now, if you're looking for a large institutional place full of loud, swigging and swaggering testosterone-amped 20somethings, do yourself a major favour and find someplace else. TR is a warm, wonderful HOME of two (well, 2-1/2) warm, wonderful people who have always welcomed me graciously and gone out of their way to make certain my every need was promptly and perfectly attended to. And i've observed them doing the same with all the other guests on each of my six occasions there. So come. And enjoy.

Room Tip: The BIG room with the huge and amazing bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We want to thank Piri, Jamie and especially Alan for sharing their home with us and helping us feel at home. Alan has a wealth of information about the Nelson/Abel Tasman area and willingly shares it. It was a real pleasure to stay in their home and share in the peaceful comfort of their lives.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have thought long and hard before posting this review, but I have appreciated honest feedback here on trip advisor, so I am going to be honest. Like one reviewer said, this is not a backpackers, but a family home. And while the couple and their six year old son are charming and very friendly and helpful, I would have appreciated a turn in the bathroom and a chance to cook and eat a meal. Yes, it is a lovely relaxed atmosphere, but cramped and a little claustrophobic.
And while I appreciate the chance to use the Internet, it is inexplicably turned off at 11.00pm and on again at 7.00am which put paid to my insomniac habit of researching and booking my forward travel.
Lovely people, but a crowded space.
Sorry, but that was my experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Feels like home!

Clean and tidy, and the hosts are great.
Paid for shared but got a single room with a big bed.
Right next to city centre.
Too bad I could have spent here only 1 night :-(
Good place to stay before hikes, Alan has great tips and knowledge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

An amazing little place which makes you feel like home!!!! BUT BOOK IN ADVANCED!!!
Piri, Alan & Jamie are great hosts with always a smile on their faces. Arriving there and being welcomed makes already the difference. You getting a beautiful tour around the small cozy guesthouse and you being introduced to all people are staying at that moment (there is a board with all the names in the kitchen as well - very easy to remember all names). There is always fruit cake and a hot cup of tea or coffee waiting. You can play the piano, guitar or just one of the many board games. You are aloud to use all the wonderful herbs in the garden and a big lemon verbena tree is waiting to become a lovely tea!
The guesthouse is only a few minutes walk away from the city center and you have in about 2-6 minutes walk 4 different restaurants/take aways around. The guesthouse is super clean and has WIFI, a washing machine and a dryer! Always nice background music is playing...just great!

The warm hearted family is always a big help and makes you feel like a good friend. Amazing that even over new years when the guesthouse was full they tried to find a place for every single backpacker/guest who walked in or called.

If you come to Nelson - DO NOT MISS to stay at this lovely and family run guesthouse! You will just like it.... I liked it so much that I couldnt leave for a whole week....even though I just planned 2 nights :)

Thank you so much for the great welcome, awesome time and all the nice time we spent together.

All the best to Alan, Piri & Jamie and hope to see you one day again!

Room Tip: The double/twin room has a great huge bed (and it would even fit 3 people). But also sleeping in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have mixed views about this place which was friendly, clean and comfortable but also very clearly a rather cramped family home with very little outdoors space - indeed most of it was below a constantly full washing line. The barbecue could only be used if plenty notice was given to get it ready and if several people wanted to use it, and there was a small child wandering around most of the time. The small kitchen felt crowded at mealtimes and I was glad I didn't have the "room" which was really just a tiny conservatory off the sitting room. It would be fairer to call this place a bed and breakfast because it often felt as though we were intruding on family space. That being said, the host Piri was very nice and made a big effort to cope with conflicting pressures. We stayed two nights and made full use of the free bikes and wifi.

Room Tip: Check if you're being offered the sittingroom conservatory. It's tiny and could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spent the Christmas days in this tiny hostel with only eight beds in total. The hosts Alan and his wife Piri made us feel as a part of the family and celebrated Christmas with us. We had two great days and a lot of fun!

The hostel is very clean, the kitchen has everything you need for cooking and baking, there is free WiFi and no bunk beds.

Alan is always happy to give advice about tramping and travelling and knows his way around NZ very well.

It was lovely spending this Christmas in the hostel! It really is a come-back-destination!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trampers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trampers Rest

Address: 31 Alton Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Trampers Rest Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trampers Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.