We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great hospitality in a small B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Puna Wai Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Te Puna Wai Lodge to your Saves list
Te Puna Wai Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Richardson Street | Britannia Heights, Nelson 7010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great views, great hospitality in a small B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

All the previous reviews describe how beautiful the rooms and views are and the great breakfasts and advice on the area. What is amazing is how both Richard and James treated us a old friends. Richard has an extraordinary breadth of knowledge and interests which he shared with us, including old Maori history and legends. He had information about a Maori goddess of the moon and tides whose name was the same as my wife's. They made very fine recommendations for adventures and restaurants. We would stay there again and would love to come back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Second floor room has the view but is more expensive. The same view are availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
163
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Te Puna Wai 2 weeks ago on our way to a fishing lodge in New Zealand. It was amazing! Richard and James have done a great job remodeling and decorating this historic house. We stayed in the first floor apartment, which is large and comfortable. A big part of how wonderful Te Puna Wai is is how hospitable and helpful and personable Richard and James are. At the yummy breakfast, they would share stories with us, give us recommendations of places to visit during the rest of our trip to New Zealand, share maps with us, etc. They treated us like visiting friends. The location of the B&B is also really nice. It has a beautiful view of Tasman Bay, and is easy walking distance to several good restaurants. We didn't need to use our car from the time we arrived. Definitely one of our top B&B experiences ever.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Spent a couple of nights here... longer would have been nice! Beautiful room with wonderful view from the veranda... and what a sunset!. Friendly helpful hosts and tasty breakfast. Well positioned and excellent restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Magnificent views, lovely old building, excellent decor, well appointed, good location and two superb hosts in Richard and James, who were both interesting and well travelled. This was reflected in the eclectic mix of accumulated items on display in this, their abode.
The best accommodation we experienced in New Zealand. Hard to nail it down to any one thing, it was just an overall joy and pleasure to stay there. Both Richard and James (the owners and hosts) are great ambassadors for Nelson and the surrounding area, in fact the whole of New Zealand.
We were greeted by James upon arrival and shown to our ground floor apartment (yes apartment). The room had french doors that opened onto a balcony area which in turn accessed a private courtyard area. As the house is positioned on a hillside we had fabulous views of around 150 degrees across Tasman Bay. The house's location on the hillside naturally provided privacy from the other houses in the vicinity, we felt comfortable and secluded from outside viewing.
Our apartment included a well appointed kitchen with, condiments, bottles of wine and spirits and all you would need, should you wish to create a culinary delight. We were on holidays and chose not part take in such foolery.
The bedroom/lounge/dining room was huge and the attached ensuite was excellent, we wanted for nothing. Thanks guys. Also the bed was comfy and we slept soundly in the quiet backwater of Nelson town.
No sooner had we settled in and unpacked we found ourselves sitting on the upstairs balcony transfixed by the view, with a glass of wine, our generous host James and other guests of the establishment. Who could ask for anything more, sitting there, beautiful weather, great scenery, engaging company and a bottle of wine. Why would you stay anywhere else.......it's beyond me.
One of the pleasures of this type of accommodation is that you get to meet interesting and engaging people such as the family from Georgia USA and a delightful couple from Philadelphia USA that were also staying at Te Puna Wai Lodge. this is what makes this kind of accommodation so enchanting and magnetic, you simply cannot help but be drawn into the atmosphere created by the hosts, the guests, the building and the situation.
We dined at 'Hopgoods' restaurant on our first night on the recommendation of Richard, who had very kindly pre booked a table for us, (bookings are essential as it is a very successful restaurant). Neil & Rhona (Philadelphia) had dined there the previous night and were so impressed by it that they were going back there the night we went. We ended up doing two nights in a row ourselves. It was fabulous.
Richard and James also suggested that we should, if we had time, go to the WOW (wearable art) museum, as we had nothing specifically planned we decided to investigate. Once again we were so taken aback by the brilliance of this display and the concept of the wearable art that we are planning to return to Wellington in September to attend the next live exhibition of this world renowned competition. The video of the 2013 show was a mix between Cabaret and Cirque du Soleil and was absolutely spellbinding. Now, to date, I haven't mentioned the car exhibition that is also housed under the same roof as the wearable art. This exhibition is equally as impressive and as astonishingly brilliant as the wearable art merely by the quality of the restorations, the display and the size of this privately owned collection.
Richard and James thank you for making your private home available to share with us it was truly a highlight of our New Zealand experience. We enjoyed it so much that June and I are keen to return to New Zealand if for no other reason, other than to stay at Te Puna Wai Lodge.
By now I guess you will be understanding that our experience at Te Puna Wai lodge was perhaps outstanding. I suggest you give it a try, I doubt you will regret it.

Room Tip: Check their website it is pretty comprehensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our two stays at Te Puna Wai Lodge are among our most cherished travel experiences. Comfort, elegance, generosity, and good taste are among the words that first come to mind to describe the approach of James and Richard. We stayed for two nights and wished it had been a week.

Room Tip: Top floor has outstanding views, elegance, comfort and style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Readers will have got the idea about this place already. It is excellent. Richard and James are superb hosts, they have good local knowledge and are cultured chaps - so cultured Sir Ian McKellen stayed there - beat that. We found our rooms to be breathtaking with the incredible views that others have mentioned, a lovely breakfast and lots and lots of objects/books to look at and browse through. Of the twelve places we stayed in NZ this was the best and certainly the most fun - we would still be talking to Richard now if the long drive to Akaroa hadn't been waiting and Richard did give us the best route - of course!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

What a gorgeous place. After a warm welcome from James, we dined on the harbour at an excellent restaurant a short walk away then we slept with the bifold windows wide open to what must be *the* best view in Nelson. Great bed, great room, great breakfast and great hosts. Sublime.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Te Puna Wai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Puna Wai Lodge

Address: 24 Richardson Street | Britannia Heights, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Puna Wai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, historic (1857) home - in Nelson's premier location - with a magical view encompassing the harbour entrance and Tasman Bay. In the west 2 mountain ranges contribute to dramatic sunsets. Three elegant rooms: Haulashore Apartment has a designer kitchen (with laundry appliances), veranda & terrace; adjacent Wakatu Room (doesn't get a direct view but often paired with Haulashore); top-floor Fifeshire Suite with unparalleled view. All have luxurious marble-tiled bathrooms. WIFI is complimentary. Relaxed, affable hosts. Four minutes to town or 4 the other way to the city beach (Tahunanui). Richard speaks German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish. Te Puna Wai's guests are helping keep a special part of NZ early architecture alive & humming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Te Puna Wai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Puna Wai Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Puna Wai Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.