We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really amazing Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chokdee

Chokdee
89 Hardy Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 130 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Really amazing Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This is some of the best Thai food I have ever eaten outside of Thailand. The spring roll entree is to die for! Charming waitresses and great service make this a very special night out. Maybe some blinds to block the evening sun would be good as it is very glary looking towards the windows.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Always excellent soups and Thai dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visit this charming Thai restaurant regularly when we are in Nelson each year and have NEVER been disappointed. The wait staff are lovely and the excellent food is very reasonably priced and arrives perfectly spiced, within minutes of ordering. We go at LEAST once per week for luncheon and always enjoy the experience. They have recently expanded and the space is somewhat less intimate but nonetheless, charming.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Good quick friendly service, lovely food. Good value for money. Nice new spacious restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Marlborough, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We love thai food and this did not disappoint very tasty, service was good and was not expensive would go again and would recommend to anyone wanting thai in nelson

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Asian dining does not have to be expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We live in Nelson but do a lot of travelling. The food here is very tasty, well priced with good service and good sized meals. Its licenced and there is plenty of parking nearby in Montgomery Carpark.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokdee also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Chokdee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chokdee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.