We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Save Saved
You added Rutherford Hotel Nelson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Trafalgar Square | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 41 hotels in Nelson
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel foyer and reception area is very nice although a bit dated in style. My room was a good size and modern. Really nice amenities and good size bathroom. My room had a view over the Cathedral. I arrived late at night and ordered room service from the snack menu. The meal took a little while to arrive but it was good. The staff were very helpful and plesant. The shops are near the hotel (although I didnt get the chance to see them on this visit as I left very early in the morning). When I went to check out I noticed the cleaner was under the table polishing the legs of the table so I thought that was good that they cared about the details. The Hotel was approx 10-15 minutes by taxi to the Airport and cost me about $22. I would stay again. Also, I enjoyed the 2 Chocolates they left out. Yum!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    90
    34
    12
    2
See reviews for
15
75
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matamata, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Found this place very average, got woken up at 6:45am by builders even tho when we used the laundry it had a sign up saying not to use it till 8am because of the other guests, thought it was over priced for the room we were in, good luck to any one who wants to stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the builders! And I would ask to view the room before taking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawke's Bay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great location, walk to shops, cafe's, saturday market and Cathedral.
Lovely rooms, spacious, clean and well presented with great bathroom extras.
Staff friendly and well presented. Except for the head lady of the catering needs to up her image if she is to stand and direct operations in the dining room, Efficient but scruffy!
Great conference dinner and second day lunch, have to ask why a curry for lunch for ladies on the first day!! not a favourite!
The hotel has that old worlde romantic charm with upholstered sofas and chairs to make an inviting friendly atmosphere. So much nicer than a sterile modern hotel.

Room Tip: No need, no one at conference had any complaints, all said the rooms were lovely, clean and spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Location Location Quiet by the Cathedral, close to al the best shops, resturants & cafes.
Excellent Conference Venue.
Rooms spacious & clean. Very friendly helpful staff.
Excellent food choice & beautifully presented.
Faultless

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Cathedral & grounds. Top floors the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A large hotel overlooking the Cathedral at the best end of town. The staff were extremely attentive even though there was a full conference in house at the time. The reception staff were very quick and organised parking which was free.Our room was very clean and well presented with a cathedral view. Breakfast was more than adequate and we had an excellent meal in the Japanese restaurant complete with comedy act from one of the chefs.
On our departure we were given great advice for our journey and computer based driving instructions to supplement this.We had a lovely time and can recommend The Rutherford.
PJW

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I recently spent the night here and was completely impressed the hotel. The hotel is in a central location that is a short walk away from everything happening in the centre of Nelson. The suite was clean, spacious and well decorated and the bathroom was immaculate.

The customer service that I received from every member of staff that I came into contact with was exceptional. The staff were attentive to my every need and I would highly recommend staying here to anyone!

Room Tip: Room 416 is a large corner suite. It was quiet and has a view of the town and the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The first impression on entering the spacious foyer was very positive. This was probably enhanced by the taxi driver who created a great start to this visit to Nelson. Reception staff were terrific making one feel that this was a very professional estalishment focussed on customer service. Throughout the stay this impression was maintained apart from a little drop in standards in the restaraunt where staff did not all seem to be fully focussed on what needed to be done. Room was great, clean, spacious, well appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rutherford Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Address: Trafalgar Square | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rutherford Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson is an extraordinary NZ destination befitting a hotel of such a high standard. The Rutherford Hotel Nelson offers luxurious hotel accommodation with a full complement of features designed to help you achieve the most from your stay. The hotel offers a range of superior guest facilities including two restaurants, a cafe and is only a couple of minutes walk from Nelson's main shopping district and landmark cathedral. Dining, relaxing, or getting away from it all, this is one of the few hotels that puts you right at the doorstep of three national parks and an unmatched range of sandy beaches, blue seas and mountain wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Rutherford Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Rutherford Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rutherford Hotel Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.