We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Sweet Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradiso Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Paradiso Backpackers to your Saves list
Paradiso Backpackers
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   42 Weka Street | PO Box 7, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free wifi+Free Breakfast!
Ranked #21 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
damiand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty Sweet Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here some time in January 2009 for 2 nights I believe this place for what you pay is very well equipped swimming pool, 2 big kitchens, lots out door picknic tables and then dont forget the magic bus all in all with good company one of the best hostels Ive stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    25
    12
    14
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
27
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights during my trip around the south island. I dont normally stay in large hostels but thought I would give it a go as it had a swimming pool. I was very happy with my stay, it was busy but everyone was very friendly and enjoying there holidays. I made use of all the facilities including the spa pool and sauna... very relaxing. All the staff were very helpful and gave me lots of local information and the rooms were clean. would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We came through here last year on the Magic Bus. My favourite hostel of all. Free soup was good and brekkie adequate, also we got a free pack of noodles on arrival, so soup and noodles was enough! We popped out to the supermarket for wine, and the local wine they were selling off was brilliant, (it is a great region!) took it to the centre of NZ a short walk from the hostel. The pool was pretty good and the bed was great, a double really, but only paid for a single, be the first one into your room! Definitely recommend it. Lovely people and the den above the reception was good to chill out on.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Cramped, noisy and uncomfortable. Rooms were tiny. Bed was shocking. Fellow backpackers were most inconsiderate and doors were slammed noisily all night - had a lot of trouble sleeping. Go elsewhere, unless you want a shallow party experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Being a veteran attendee at the excellent MarchFest, which is staged just down the road in Founders Park, I have arranged a group booking at nearby Paradiso on three separate occasions, as there's a good range of accommodation types. Have stayed in dorms, a private room in the main building and a motel unit. Each time the staff have been very friendly and helpful, but the place has always been packed (it's on the major coach tours stop-off route). This creates a party atmosphere, but leads to inevitable problems with overcrowding etc. in both kitchen and bathrooms. The outside space is great with the pool and old bus down the bottom of the garden, but if you want a quiet stay make sure you a book a motel unit.

Room Tip: Plenty of choice but pays to book well in advance to secure preferred option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I got here quiet late and the place was swarming with all nationalitys! The kitchen was full of people tripping over each other around others trying to use the place as a party lounge and drink on into the night, after talking to the receptionist we discovered that there is a small motel complex joined onto the place around the back and not at all that expensive, it was a lot quieter and we had some privacy too. After settling in my boss ( the missus) sent me of to do a load of washing and what a bloody mess! There were cloths hanging out of machines and all over the ground and half hanging of the lines!! Finally got that sorted and then went to the not so noisey part of the complex for a couple of quieter drinks.

Room Tip: If you are a couple and have been travelling a while and want a quiet night and have a couple of ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Photos looked great with pool etc but very deceiving pool and spa was in backpackers area. Had to go to backpackers to book in as nobody in office and phone did not work. Code for access to get to kitchen for free breakfast did not work so missed out. Kitchen was definitely not suitable for breakfast (more for backpackers and not the mature traveller). Room not overally clean and ended up with bites. Could not sleep as very noisy with talking and coughing outisde till all hours of the morning. Tried after hours number for porter and no reply. Steps were very slippery when wet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradiso Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradiso Backpackers

Address: 42 Weka Street | PO Box 7, Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradiso Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paradiso Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Backpackers Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradiso Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.