We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our meal here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gourmandise

La Gourmandise
276 Hardy St East, Nelson, New Zealand
03 54 66 348
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 131 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our meal here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had a lovely meal here with friends. It was the first time I had been there and I will definitely go again. Theres a wonderful array of French cousine on the menu to choose from. Highly recomended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent French cuisine at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Dinner for four at this delightful restaurnt.We were walking past and food and price looked good and we were not disappointed. Beautifully cooked food and excellent service, friendly with a smile and a joke. We did not experience any problems and the price was good. $200 for dinner for four with 2 entrees, 4 mains, 2 deserts, coffee, wine and beer. Highly recommended, one of the best meals we had in NZ.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Authentic French Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed dinner at La Gourmandise during our visit to Nelson.
A friendly greeting on arrival set the mood for the evening.
The menu offers an extensive selection and we chose the 3 courses for $37 option.
Our French onion soup was superb,
My wife had the fish of the day (Gurnett) and I had the veal ragout, both dishes were excellent authentic french cuisine.
The créme caramel to finish with was great.
There is a good selection of wines at reasonable prices.
We can highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Horribly Rude Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Place was half empty when we arrived, no wonder. I ordered a Chai Latte, the 'Chai' part of the milk being nonexistent, the rude owner glared at me when i complained and tried to toss of an excuse of it being a 'homemade' recipe? Then why would you sell it? She attempted to remedy it after i insisted, what i got back was a glare and a sarcastic 'hope you enjoy' when it was slammed down on the table. I expected it to be remade, because it was cold, all that was added was some more of the 'Chai' powder. To top it off i even got charged for the drink even though i didn't drink it! Food was mediocre, and so was the service. The other staff looked absolutely shattered and it reflected in there service. You would think that someone who owns a business would take better care of there staff and there partons, not to mention apologize for the drink! No wonder we went to Morrisons Cafe after, it was a breath of fresh air being greeted by bubbly staff and treated fantastic, even though they were closing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Owner has shocking attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

For the first time in my life my partner and a friend left this resturant without eating the meal.
There was nothing wrong with the food. However the owner made everyone feel so uncomfortable over a small misunderstanding regarding the order that we counldn't stay. We paid for the un-eaten food and left.
The owner was slaming down water jugs, glaring, comunicating extremely beligerantly all over a stupid $8 soup. People at nearby tables had a look of shock on their face!
Unbeleivable. She has no idea who to treat a guest / patron and frankly you would be betetr off walking across the road to the Indain takeaways.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gourmandise also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to La Gourmandise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gourmandise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.