We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, clean & homey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tudor Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added Tudor Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tudor Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   52 Tahunanui Drive, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Nelson
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Awesome, clean & homey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in January with two kids, we were in the roadside room and I had read the reviews about truck noise, but we didn't really notice it. Had a lovely private courtyard with chairs to relax in. The owners were lovely and give the girls extra Milo at check-in. Room was immaculately clean and had quite a few little extras that I wouldn't have expected for this rate. Was very handy having kitchen facilities. Kids stayed in twin single room and we had the Queen bed in the lounge, was great for watching TV in bed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
With big delay and apologies ,thank you for wonderful review.It mean a lot to us. We are pleased you all enjoyed your holiday .As January approaches fast ,we would like to have you again if Nelson is on your itinerary .
Thank you and Regards,
Ivo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was the second time we stayed here and we enjoyed it just as much as we did the first time. We stayed for 3 nights in a family unit, which was spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and the location was just perfect for the beach. Great value too. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Chaplins,
We apologise for the late reply to your review. We would like thank you, above all for your time spent on posting the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves, your kids especially, during your stay here at Tudor Lodge Motel, and the Nelson area.
We will be more than privileged to be your host again.
Regards,
Vuki and Ivo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We are back again after one year, this time for business. Again, the stay was just great. We we're welcomed by the friendly hosts, who remembered us from our last visit. the rooms were obviously upgraded since our last visit with new carpet and even newer flatscreen TV's. The grounds were very relaxing and the garden is very pleasant for a nice coffee! Will def. be back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Martin,
that was our pleasure to have you again here in Tudor Lodge Motel .As usual ,we are doing our best ,and we are so pleased that this is noticeable.
Cant wait to see you all next year.
Thank you and regards from,
Ivo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Motel room fairly clean minus chipping paint and stained carpet. No frills here, basic sky, basic/uncomfortable bedding. Shower than ran hot and cold or just cold. Friendly hosts. May be good value for a family but not the best for a business traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Marry Christmas,
Ivo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Loved the fact that this is a family owned and operated motel! My husband, adult daughter and I stayed in a studio unit. We really liked the separate bedroom for her (as she stays up much later than us, and we arise much earlier than her!), The toilet being in a separate compartment from the shower/sink was great. Beds were comfortable and we had all the amenities we needed in the kitchen area. The grounds were clean and beautiful, and the "tudor" style was very charming. Great value!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Sorry for late reply on your wonderful review .Here was so busy and weather is awesome .
We are so pleased that you enjoyed in Tudor Lodge Motel, and our area,and really hope to see you again soon.All the best to all of you.and big regards from all of us in Tudor Lodge Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

pulled in with no booking,and was pleased with standard of room,had a wee walk to unit which would be a pain with children as going past all other units,ours was on the street not good,trucks go past all night long,unit very well appointed,bathroom fine,lovely and clean,comfy bed

Room Tip: not 1 on the street front as trucks go all night and traffic patrol twice outside our unit and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for the review and your time .Merry Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renwick, Marlborough, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was the only motel whose published price for two adults and two children was actually what they charged! Why do motels offer rooms configured for four, then say the price is for two people only and add on an extra $20 per child!?
Tudor Lodge is obviously well looked after, well priced and well placed. Only complaint would be our unit was close to the road so road noise (big trucks) were a pain.
At $125 for four (off peak) this was great value.

Room Tip: Number 11 was noisy due to being right on the road - suggest you ask for a unit away from road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review and your time .Merry Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tudor Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge Motel

Address: 52 Tahunanui Drive, Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tudor Lodge Motel - Nelson Accommodation Nestled in the heart of Tahunanui, just a few minutes’ drive from Nelson city center and Richmond, Tudor Lodge Motel Nelson, NZ, is a family owned and operated accommodation situated 400 m from the lovely Tahunanui beach, where there is also a children’s play area and fun park nearby. Lots of wonderful restaurants and pubs are on our doorstep. The airport and golf course are 2 km away, as is the "NZ best" Saturday market in the city center. We are close to supermarkets and dairy shops, and art and craft studios. Kaiteriteri Beach, the gateway to the famous Abel Tasman National Park, is a 60 km drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tudor Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tudor Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.