We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service Great Food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Pub and Cafe

Smugglers Pub and Cafe
8 Muritai Street | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
+64 3-546 4084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 130 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: European, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: SUPREME WINNER TOP SHOP 2014 and WINNER FOOD, BEVERAGE & HOSPITALITY CATEGORY - NELSON The Smugglers Pub and Cafe is famous for its hearty meals, foaming craft ales and great wines all served up in a unique old world atmosphere.Located within easy walking distance from Nelson's Tahunanui Beach and set amongst the areas' busy motel district, the Smugglers is ideally placed to cater for your group no matter how large or small. Food is available all day and into the evening with extensive snack, lunch and dinner menus including gluten free and children's menus for young smugglers. We stock a variety of regional, national and international wines along with Mac's & Speights beers, Guinness, Kilkenny, Becks and Stella Artois.We are open seven days a week including most holidays and absolutely no surcharges ever. So come on down relax and enjoy the award winning atmosphere that is so unique to Smugglers.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Service Great Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

While working in Nelson I took my wife to have a meal at Smugglers when we arrived we received
a warm welcome a told to sit any where we liked. A short time later we were personally welcomed to Smugglers and explained the menu, not like any where else dull and boring but it was done like the menu was a treasure of tasty morsels waiting to be consumed.
The meal and drinks were ordered. We drank in the atmosphere and engaged in conversation.
The meal arrived which exceeded our exceptions for taste and size.
I will be back next time I am in Nelson

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you the next time your in Nelson

Mike & Paul (Co-Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went for a week day lunch and found the staff to be really friendly and the service was quick. The food was absolutely delicious, and of a good size. Liked the theme.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your visit to Smugglers, we are glad you enjoyed your lunch and that you were happy with the service you received...

Mike & Paul (Co-Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for an evening out, right by the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Excellent food, lots of tasty beer and an great atmosphere - well worth a visit. Looks like good meals can be had throughout the day so an excellent option when visiting Tahunanui.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience at Smugglers..Glad you enjoyed your time with us..

Mike & Paul (Co-Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was a great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I booked a table for seven people. The service was prompt and the wine list good. The meals were delivered without undue delay and the servings were of a good size. I thoroughly enjoyed the fish I ordered and everyone was tucking in and commenting positively on their meals. I noticed a patched motorcycle gang member being asked to remove his jacket which was pretty good. All in all, a positive experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thanks for Choosing Smugglers for your evening out, we are glad you enjoyed your meals and the service and hope to see you again soon..

Mick & Paul (Co-Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A good pub meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The fish was very fresh although the accompanying chips and salad, covered in dressing, were a little ordinary.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thanks for your review, and thank you for visiting Smugglers Pub & Cafe.

Mick & Paul (Co-Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers Pub and Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Smugglers Pub and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Pub and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.