We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Pub and Cafe

Smugglers Pub and Cafe
8 Muritai Street | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
+64 3-546 4084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 131 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: European, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: SUPREME WINNER TOP SHOP 2014 and WINNER FOOD, BEVERAGE & HOSPITALITY CATEGORY - NELSON The Smugglers Pub and Cafe is famous for its hearty meals, foaming craft ales and great wines all served up in a unique old world atmosphere.Located within easy walking distance from Nelson's Tahunanui Beach and set amongst the areas' busy motel district, the Smugglers is ideally placed to cater for your group no matter how large or small. Food is available all day and into the evening with extensive snack, lunch and dinner menus including gluten free and children's menus for young smugglers. We stock a variety of regional, national and international wines along with Mac's & Speights beers, Guinness, Kilkenny, Becks and Stella Artois.We are open seven days a week including most holidays and absolutely no surcharges ever. So come on down relax and enjoy the award winning atmosphere that is so unique to Smugglers.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a roast meal. One of our group was vegetarian and they catered for her very well. Was very nice and staff were very friendly. Was very handy to our motel too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks for your review we are glad we could cater for all your needs and hope to see you back one day
Mike & Paul (Co-owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“...and the Guinness kept coming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I were taken out for dinner by a supplier and had another fantastic meal and evening. Have to admit the service in this place is fantastic. We were in a party of 4 sitting near the bar and the resturant's team just kept our glasses full and were very very attentive. As soon as my Guinness was getting low, magically another pint arrived...just great. I had the lambs fry with mashed pots and gravy - the portion was massive and the flavour was rich. meaty and perfect. The ladies at our table had the fish and they all really really enjoyed it. Again too full for puds but did manage to just fit another half pint of Guinness in !! Really really impressive food and service and when we left at 8pm, all the tables were full, which was interesting as on our drive home , the other local resturants were pretty empty. So we thought people were clearly voting with their feet on a Wednesday night. Not certain why we don;t here more often...must make a mental note to do so in future. Great evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your great review we really do appreciate it, we are glad you enjoyed your dinner and our Guinness and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mike & Paul (Co-Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We met here for a family get together. The food was lovely and the price was reasonable. There was a good choice on the menu and they went out of there way to grill fish when one of our party requested it along with a salad.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for your great review we are glad you enjoyed your meal, a happy that your family was looked after.

Mike & Paul (Co-Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Absolute superb! One of the finest!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have to say that without a doubt Smugglers is my all time favourite restaurant in Nelson. I make a point of always visiting this fantastic restaurant at last once every time I come home. I've celebrated many a birthday and family event at Smugglers and every time it was amazing. Very friendly staff who go out of their way to help you and make sure you are comfortable, utterly amazing food that is so delicious you'll be coming back for more and a very cozy and welcoming atmosphere. You feel welcome and at home from the moment you step through the door. I have been a huge fan of the place for quite awhile now and I don't see that changing any time soon. It's a pity there is only one Smugglers, but it is one of the real joys about coming home to Nelson. Keep it up, top of the line!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your fab review, we are glad you enjoyed Smugglers yet again and look forward to you returning next time your in Nelson.

Mike & Paul (Co-Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallaroo, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely 1st Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently came home to Nelson from South Australia for my parents 60th wedding Anniversary celebration. Family had booked lunch at the Smugglers Pub. There were about 30 of us including young kids.
We were absolutely spoilt rotten with service and food to die for. The perfect venue with perfect food and beverage is an absolute must if you are in town.
Nelson Bays in general has a cafe culture second to none in the cafe world and places/cities like Adelaide and rural South Australia, where I'm from could learn a valueable lesson here.
Top class and a huge thanks to the staff and chefs.
Darryl H

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibeare001, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Pub and Cafe, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Awesome Darryl, thanks heaps for your fab review, we are glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves at Smugglers and we were happy to be a part of your parents 60th Wedding Anniversary. Look forward to seeing you again one day. Mike & Paul (Co-Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers Pub and Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Smugglers Pub and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Pub and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.