We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good New Zealand Tucker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FORD'S Restaurant & Bar

FORD'S Restaurant & Bar
276 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
03 5469400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 143 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $34
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good New Zealand Tucker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This establishment is very well run by good and experienced Shift Manager from Torquay Devon, his experience shines through all the front of house team who are all excellent and very good at their jobs. The food is outstanding, well prepared and presented from a very well constructed menu. Well worth a visit you will not be disappointed but do book in advance to be sure!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    123
    31
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wee bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

After we had dessert at Fords a while ago (which was divine) we were reallly looking forward to our dinner there. Unfortunately it wasn't the best experience. Food was super slow and while it certainly looked amazing the flavour and seasoning was a let down.

The shrimp cocktail was saturated in dressing and had even more exess dressing on the side while the calamari were tasty but massively lacked dressing. The turkey main was ok but the gratin dry and bland while the groper fish of the day was probably the best dish that night. The pinacolada cheesecake looked amazing but again the taste just didnt deliver, some fruity sauce may have made a difference but with dried coconut en masse in the cake and dried pineapple on top those few bits of fresh pineapple didn't create enough of a fruity, fresh balance.

Our booking was for 7.30, starters were served at 8.30, mains at 9.30, dessert at 10.30pm and we found a full hour between courses just a wee bit too long. Plus after the mains they cleared all glasses on our table and didn't offer any more drinks until dessert was served which meant we were sitting dry for a good 45min.

We appreciate that we were part of a large group but since we had a booking you'd expect the kitchen to be prepared for the volumn especially as the rest of the restaurant wasn't even busy.

We'll give Fords another go in future based on our first experience there and hopefully this was a once off odd day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordnelson, Owner at FORD'S Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We're so sorry Andy, that your experience at FORD'S didn't meet your expectations. We've discussed with the chefs, your comments about the food, and I'm sure they've taken heed. We are aware of one Christmas booking where the timing went astray as only 16 of a confirmed 24 turned up. The organiser asked us to delay starting, which meant next courses clashed with other bookings. If this was your group, we're really sorry as we would normally never take that long. We're thrilled that your previous visit with dessert was enjoyable and trust your next visit will be of that same standard. Kind regard Kerry & Garry Ford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good lunch at Fords”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Had lunch here twice. Fish and Chips was great and had a nice selection of beer and the desert was real good

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Most recent visit was for lunch. Great menu, very good, friendly service (thanks Melissa!), nice wine, reasonable price. I had the fish which was perfect, and my companions meal was excellent as well. I can't think of anything negative, well done and thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordnelson, Owner at FORD'S Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thanks Alan for your positive comments about your visit to FORD'S. Melissa was thrilled with the feedback. Kind regards Kerry & Garry Ford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“First class dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were only in Nelson for one night and picked FORD'S because the menu looked good and it seemed quite busy.
We were so glad we did because it was the best meal so far of our holiday. My husband had the signature steak, cooked to perfection and I had the John Dory special which was delicious. We followed this with the cheeseboard which was plenty for two people to share with a good selection of cheeses and two chutneys.
The atmosphere was relaxed and the service was excellent and we felt the cost of the meal was good value for the quality of the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FORD'S Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to FORD'S Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FORD'S Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.