We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow amazzing once again best restaurant in nelson a must for all japanese foodies.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sachi Sushi & Seafood Bar - CLOSED

Sachi Sushi & Seafood Bar
19 New Street, Nelson, New Zealand
+64 3 546 6277
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“wow amazzing once again best restaurant in nelson a must for all japanese foodies.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was my third visit and what a wonderful experience once again i must say this is the best restaurant in nelson beautiful elegant flavors that truly are exquisite such honest food with so much depth which leaves you feeling so appreciative of the quality that truly is being served in this sushi bar, i already know what iam having for my next visit cant wait such a memorable experience gracefully thankful to all of the sachi staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Nelson & excellent Japanese fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

For real sushi in Nelson this is the place to go. There are only a two good sushi restaurants in Nelson, and Sachi is the best. The sashimi options are listed daily on the blackboard behind the sushi bar and you cannot go wrong with any of the options listed. The chef will prepare special rolls and sushi options upon request and do not be afraid to ask for recommendations or any questions you have about what fish to try. The sushi chef is very friendly and happy to make recommendations.

I have been to Sachi many times and always have sushi although other diners have recommended other dishes on the menu, and all have said they enjoy the Japanese fusion dishes on offer.

The atmosphere reminds me of a good sushi restaurant in San Francisco, and with choices for seating at the sushi bar and tables you can choose what best suits your dining needs. There are 30 seats available and they often fill up so I recommend making a reservation.

In addition to the food they offer a good sake list as well as wines and beers.

For dessert I recommend the green tea creme brule.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Nelson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

of course, not many comparable options but if you want a good sushi dinner, this is a good choice. Make sure to get a couple sides as well - miso soup, peas, and rice (if you are pretty hungry). order a couple different sushi dishes and a main or two as well. it's about trying several different things. I had a prawn roll with avo which was excellent. Also tried the Dynamite roll which was fine but would go a different way next time. decent set up but some tables are pretty close and the noise does travel. can be closed in winter so call ahead. not a bunch of seating so best to make a reservation. give it a shot.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Out of my comfort zone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I had heard other people talking about their experience at Sachi Sushi in Nelson,so I booked to go for a meal.

When we rang to book they said there were no tables left,but we could sit at the sushi bar.

When we arrived we were met at the door then shown to our seats at the sushi bar. The seats were big black and very comfortable.

We were told the wine of the evening, was riesling,very nice.

We were then shown the blackboard specials and given a menu.

Everything looked fabulous and sitting at the sushi bar we could see the preparation that was going into making the platters and sushi.

First we ordered the chicken special,then king tempura prawns,pork belly. Each course was explained to us. We were given chop sticks,then when we were having trouble using them,we were offered chopsticks for beginners,held by rubber bands. Good decision. Each course was brought out separately,with time to break between each one.

Watching the sushi be made, we decided to be adventurous and try it. We ordered sushi with chicken,this had a dressing of wasabi,pickled ginger, and was rolled when finished being made in a tempura crumb. It had a dipping sauce also.

The last course, desert.....this was a scrumptious lemon cheesecake, with sake. When it was brought out,the waitress explained we were to take a spoonful of the cheesecake out then pour the sake into the hole, this mixes with the cheesecake, and goes through to the biscuit base.

We had a fabulous fun night, never having been to this type of restaurant beore or having this type of cuisine.

The staff were helpful, I think at some points they were laughing because of our lack of knowledge and being hopeless with chopsticks, so a very entertaining evening.

Sitting at the sushi bar meant we watched the owner making up huge fresh seafood platters.

Would love to go back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana, Andorra
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi/Sashimi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very pleasant restauarant serving excellent sushi & sashimi at sensible prices

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sachi Sushi & Seafood Bar also viewed

 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sachi Sushi & Seafood Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.