We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Nelson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almond House Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Almond House Backpackers to your Saves list
Almond House Backpackers
63 Grove Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place in Nelson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a wonderful backpackers. I have nothing but good things to say about this place. Great kitchens, rooms, beds, internet, cat, etc, etc. If you are looking for a quiet, clean and run base to explore Nelson, look no further.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here as a family over Christmas, giving our son his first backpackers experience. We wondered how it would be as we were the only family (except the owners, who luckily had a child the same age!), but the group were so friendly, we needn't have given it a second thought. Nice, clean rooms, with space for clothes and personal items. Plenty of showers and toilets and a good, clean, spacious communal area with free tea and coffee. Owners and staff were brilliant with advice and very friendly, with a big barbie and games on Christmas Day. Would highly recommend. p.s. our son LOVED it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Almond is perfect. The owners and staff just understand what customers want and have created a perfect family-like small backpackers. It attracts the right people and so it feels like a second home. With just 25 beds it's small enough to give this family feeling and big enough to have a amusing time with similar-minded travelers! It's clean, well equipped, free wifi and bikes and staff is super friendly! Bravo!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokoroa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Almond House was a great place to stay, one and half blocks to walk to our conference. Really great gardens etc on the way Staff are friendly and helpful rooms clean and tidy. Priced right for our budget. Shuttle took us to and fro from air port. complementary bikes. loved the fact that Tea and coffee available also a microwave. staying in Nelson recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

spent 4 weeks at Almond House and enjoyed every minute. Fiona has lots of great advice on what to do in the area and makes you feel welcome. it is an easy 5-10 minute walk into town, close to shops, bars and restaurants in a quiet neighbourhood.
the rooms are spotless, clean and really comfy. lots of storage, bedside lamps, plenty of plugs, free wifi. shared facilities are fantastic too and always kept super clean.
both kitchens are superb and everything u need is in it. Did lots of baking here :-)
the lounge has a lovely fireplace and lots of space to relax and have a chat.
loved Missy the cat!
will always come back here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikohe, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A group of four of us stayed at Almond house in Feb/March 2013. It was a great experience. This backpackers is quiet, clean, and extremely friendly. It is so close to the main shopping area and central city. Their loan bicyles were a great help to us!! Despite having to change our booking several times the staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. We are returning to Nelson again in Feb/March 2014 and will definitely stay here if we can get a booking. Thank you Peter, Fiona and Staff. Howie and Vicki

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Almond House became my home away from home while I was living in New Zealand. The facilities are FANTASTIC and Paul and Fiona (and the kids!) are really welcoming and ready to assist in any way they can. I was a long term resident here and I loved every minute of it! You get a wide range of travellers who stay here, so it's not focused on just the younger crowd. The place was always kept clean and there was always space for everyone to hang out together or do their own thing. The location is perfect too; only a short walk to the city center and to many nice walks and hikes around the area.

And out of all the backpackers I've stayed at, this is by far my favorite. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almond House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond House Backpackers

Address: 63 Grove Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As world travellers ourselves we know what makes a great stay - whatever the season. Almond House summers are all about sunny garden bbqs and hammocks while in winter our log fire gatherings are the place to be. All year round you can go exploring on our bikes or yours (we're super cyclist friendly!), plan your next adventure (we'll help!), unwind with a book, stay connected with free internet and wifi, or - simply throw down your bags and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Almond House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almond House Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.