We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Arcadia Motel to your Saves list
Arcadia Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   36 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save Money!
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Value and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed in one of the two-bedroom units and enjoyed sitting out on the balcony at night. The hotel is very clean, comfortable, and the owners are great. My only complaint is it's a little outside of "downtown" Nelson so we couldn't walk there. You can get there in a car in ten minutes though.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Many thanks for you review. It was great to have you guys stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    44
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
62
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

My husband and I were visiting New Zealand, from Canada, for a three-week vacation in January 2011.
We stayed at the Arcadia Motel and found it to be a great location, away from the noise and traffic of the rest of Nelson.
The owner, Andy, was very friendly and very helpful in giving us ideas as to where to go for dinner and drinks, or where to go for a walk, etc.
The motel is a short walk from the restaurants/bars, so no need to drive. There is a swimming pool onsite; even though we didn't use it, it would be nice to take a dip after a long hot day of driving.
We found that Andy was quite often out walking around the property, tending to the pool, or just making sure that everything was fine and good. You don't often see this in motel owners; usually they stay in their living units and you don't see them again after you've booked/purchased your room. Andy enjoyed talking to his guests and being visible.

We were only in Nelson for one night, but had we been staying longer, this would definitely be a good place to stay. We highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Nelson.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

This motel is a great place to stay near to Tahunanui Beach and Nelson Airport. The helpful owners gladly gave me all the information I needed about the area (places to visit, bars, restaurants etc) and even got on the phone to my tour operator when the bus was late.
It is an easy 3 min stroll to the beach and great beach cafe. Rooms are clean, quiet and spacious and I also had a new TV. If you don't need, or wish to be in the centre of town this is a great option (the centre is just a few minutes by car anyway). I would certainly stay here again if I'm ever back in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The Motel is very well situated, close to the beach, close to some nice restaurants and easy to find.
The rooms are well proportioned, very clean and comfortable
The courtyard is well protected and made a perfect play area for our grandchildren.
Andrew & Jena were the perfect hosts throughout the week, always checking to make sure everything was to our satisfaction.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Arcadia to anyone who is staying in Nelson

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Very helpful owners who even gave us a lift to the airport. Nice spacious rooms but dated in furnishings. Three minute drive to Nelson Airport. Some decent places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

A friendly welcome from the owner was a good start. The rooms were clean and well serviced throughout our 6 nights stay. The motel was very handy for the beach and eateries close by. The owner offered advice and was knowledgeable about attractions in Nelson. A start has been made on updating the 1980s decor but there is still a way to go.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Very nice and helpful owners will help you to make the best out of your stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcadia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Motel

Address: 36 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arcadia Motel is a beautiful, quiet motel situated only 500m from Tahuna Beach, 1km to the Nelson Links Golf Course and a short walk to some excellent local cafes, bars and restaurants. We have 12 fully equipped spacious units ranging from studios to 2-bedroom family units. All apartments have full kitchen and bathroom facilities, Guest Select Sky TV 50+ digital channels with a decoder in each apartment, DVD players, IPod Docks and free off-street parking. Relax by the solar-heated pool or experience the many cultural or adventure attractions that Nelson has to offer. Walk or mountain bike to the centre of New Zealand and enjoy the spectacular views. Visit the weekend market and pick up something special. Founders Park and the Japanese Gardens are great places to relax with the family. The Arcadia is your stepping stone to the Abel Tasman National Park, Rainbow Ski Field and the Marlborough Sounds. We look forward to providing you a home from home accommodation experience and to welcome you to our Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arcadia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadia Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.