We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, spacious, modern & AMAZING food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Nelson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Nelson to your Saves list
The Sands Nelson
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   623 Rocks Road, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, spacious, modern & AMAZING food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was time for a relaxing holiday, we wanted to stay indoors & brought a box set of TV on DVD & planned to stayed indoors. The weather played along & to top it off, we fell in love with all the food in the restaurant downstairs - 623 On the Rocks - SUPERB, we ate breakfast, lunch & dinner! The room was modern, clean & had gorgeous views. Plus the owners were incredible, even picked us up from the airport!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The whole place was impeccably clean. Extremely well furnished and layed out. A beautiful wrap around balcony with an amazing view! Great location not far from downtown and golfing as well as upstairs from a nice bar/restaurant. Brilliant place!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The view was stunning - a lovely sunny deck overlooking Tahunanui Beach.
We were so disappointed with our 'luxury' apartment - shabby - stained carpet - at least half the varnish off the coffee table along with white heat marks. Broken rubbish bin and fridge door opening system - The bedroom was dark with no outside windows (only high up ones into the covered car park)
On arrival we found a half used tray of ice in the fridge and the kettle half full of water and had to ask for 3 light bulbs to be replaced and the deck swept and cleared of spider webs.
The deodoriser smell was nauseating. Fortunately the weather was good and we were able to open up the patio doors.
I realise that one should always be suspicious of anywhere where you are asked to pay the full amount - we were staying for 8 nights - before you even see the apartment!

Room Tip: Apparently these apartments are all individually owned (and furnished) - I would certainly insist on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which gave us absolutely amazing views of the beach. This complex is so handy to cafes,restaurants and bars -and of course the beach. everything is casual down there and suited me down to the ground.
Only downside is trying to contact manager for key to check in, however, once that is done there is a phone in the unit and the manager is easy to contact and quickly on the ball to service any requests.......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in a 3-bedroom apartment, very spacious and clean and convenient for the beach. There are some local shops and cafes/ restaurants but you really need a car as it is outside Nelson itself. The only negative was that the reception is not open very often- you have to contact the manager of the building by phone- my Australian phone didn't work in NZ! Perhaps a buzzer to contact the manager would be a better idea? he was very friendly and helpful once summoned! The beds were comfortable but there was some traffic noise- needed the air-con on all night to drown it out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the second floor in Jan 2013.The Location is excellent if staying near the beach in "Tahunanui" is what you are after, but if you did not have a car and wanted to spend a fair amount of time in "Nelson city" shopping or going to galleries/ markets etc or going to restaurants/bars then this would not really the best area to base yourself. It is too far to walk and you would need to bus or taxi into the city, but in saying that I prefer to stay in Tahunanui and also we had a car so this was no problem. There are good cafes, takeaways & restaurants below or just a short walk from "The Sands" and the beach across the road is fantastic as are the views from the apartment balcony. The room was modern and fairly well appointed but the bed was terrible, it was so soft it was like sleeping on an old foam swab from school camp. As "The Sands" are apartments I think that they may be individually owned and each differently appointed and furnished, also note that as these are apartments the office is not very often open, even during the day and you need to ring for service ( we had to call to get the room key on arrival and as we are overseas visitors this was a international mobile phone call). Overall this is a good place to stay, I don't think that I would call them luxury apartments as per their web site description but it is worthy of four stars, the views are a five star and as for the bed it receives just one star.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a one bedroomed luxury apartment with everything you will need. Views across to the beach, & a nice balcony. The Sands is centrally situated, a number of bars, cafes, takeaways & restuarants all within 2 mins walking. Great for a night out without the car. Dinner at The Smugglers is well worth it, fab food. Undercovered private parking outside your apartment was wonderful. Neville the Manager is great, nothing is any trouble for him. We will definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front for the views. Wifi is provided at a small cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sands Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Nelson

Address: 623 Rocks Road, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sands Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.