We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Nelson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Nelson to your Saves list
The Sands Nelson
623 Rocks Road, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We really loved our 3 night stay at The Sands and enjoyed the benefit of low season travel by being upgraded to a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment.

The apartment was very modern, clean and spacious and the managers friendly. Yes, it is on a busy road which may be an issue in the warmer months, however we had the doors closed as it was cool and opened the windows for ventilation at night time. Our bedrooms were at the back so the noise wasn't a big issue.

The apartments are a short drive out of the main area of Nelson but in a good location and the beach across the road is lovely.

I would definitely stay at The Sands again....... if I'm lucky enough to visit Nelson in the future!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Very disappointed with whole expereincefor the price we paid. Not only were the rooms were not that clean the main bedrrom linen looked like it need a good wash and the 2nd bedroom was very small.
View was great but yet again furniture on balcony very old looking.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in late December 2010. The apartment was excellent, bathroom a bit small, but bedroom was quiet. Traffic noise really is a problem - it is on a very busy road, and you could not watch TV with the balcony doors wide open. Same with sitting on the balcony, the traffic noise was a problem, although my husband like watching the planes take of and land. But we had a restful 3 days before heading south.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had three glorious nights in this lovely spot.
The apartment literally took our breath away, it was so lovely, although very modern, was comfortable and had everything you could possibly need. The furniture was so nice, we wanted to pack the entire apartment up and take home. The large balcony gave a fabulous view over the beach. Although a busy road and restaurant/bar were directly below us, we heard nothing. Bed was king size and very comfortable. Manager went out of his way to cater for our needs. The one and only negative feedback was the towels, they were so thin and old and for three days we only had 2, but they got everything else right. We can't wait to return

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Nelson

Address: 623 Rocks Road, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sands Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.