We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tiny Slice of Paradiso” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradiso Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Paradiso Apartments to your Saves list
Paradiso Apartments
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Weka St. & Tasman St., Nelson 7015, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Tiny Slice of Paradiso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I''ve spent over ten nights here in the last year, travelling on my own or with my girlfriend and it's always been good. The motel is part of a complex which includes backpacker accommodation, a spa a, garden and an outdoor pool. I noticed large groups of young Germans, Hispanic tourists and many other ethnic travellers in the backpaker area, sometimes, not unexpectedly, very noisy in some summer evenings. You can't buy alcohol on the premises. It's purely BYO. In the morning, a basic but sufficient breakfast is provided. At no extra charge! The rooms I stayed in were all good, modern, maybe on the smaller side, but this is good because you don't have to run the aircon too hard, keeping it quiet. The hosts, Helen and Neil (?), are sympatic and efficient - if you see them, say 'hi!' from me!

Room Tip: Call early. It may be too late already.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
19
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I spent one night at the Paradiso Motel appartments. Having stayed in the backpackers before, I thought I would try the motel rooms.... Awesome!!!!
Everything was big...... Big bed, Soft pillows, huge tv screen, big bath (spa bath), big mirror...... Clean, chic, I wish I could have stayed for 2 nights and had time to just chill out there. It was a wee bit cold to use the pool and outdoor spa.... but in the summer I bet i goes off!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpfull. I enjoyed their studio units which were clean. Beds were great and Free Internet was an extra bonus. Would go their again.

Room Tip: Go into the upstairs rooms as they get the sun longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keewatin, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was a great place in Nelson. We had a second floor room that opened onto palm trees rustling in the breeze. Walked into town for the restaurants. It was great. Nelson is a really cool place. I guess we stayed two nights in the Paradiso. The motel shares the property with a hostel but the two are completely separate and in fact they shut the gate between the two at night. Laundry facilities were handy. Good off-street parking. I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling through Nelson.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor above the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Was disappointed by this motel.The website describes it as a luxury motel - err not quite, it did not meet my expectations in this respect at all. Very rough around the edges. You are greeted with an envelope stuck in the locked reception door saying that the reception is closed and your keys are in the room (even though the hours stated in the letter would indicate that it should be open). The 'free wireless internet' didn't work. And note what I didn't, the pool is described as 'solar heated' - have a think about what this actually means - bit of a pointless description in my opinion.

The staff in the linked backpackers were friendly enough - even though my payment was not recorded and I was asked to pay again the following morning.

The motel was fine enough the website is just a bit misleading - if they hadn't described it as luxury I wouldn't be so bothered.

Ok for one night, but think there are probably nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fegen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Very nice motel, little in spanish style. We were there 2 nights in january 2012. Hotel is located in the suburbs of Nelson and you have to know that it's ca 1 km to walk if you want to go shopping or to the restaurant, but it's excellent and cosy place. Very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I was so impressed with my room that I extended my stay by an extra night. I thought it might have been a bit noisy with the backpackers next door, but I heard no noise from there at all. Very friendly and helpful staff, even gave me a ride into town and offered free homemade soup for tea and cereal etc for breakfast. The room came with free local phone calls and free unlimited Internet which was fantastic. The spa bath just topped the room off nicely.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradiso Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradiso Apartments

Address: Corner Weka St. & Tasman St., Nelson 7015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradiso Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradiso Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradiso Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.