We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relish Waterfront Dining - CLOSED

Relish Waterfront Dining
322 Wakefield Quay, Nelson, New Zealand
(03) 539 1307
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: email info@relishdining.co.nz
Rotorua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The shabby Yacht Club facade does no favours to one of the best dining experiences you will encounter in Nelson.With unsurpassed sea views and one of the finest yet most affordable menus in town, Relish was the best find we have had for a very long time. Friendly personable service with a menu,presentation and quality of food we thought was a thing of the past. A dining experience of this standard is hard to find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    33
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice food, but slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We were seated and drink orders taken fairly promptly, food orders were taken at same time. Food took around 45min to arrive, slightly too long for me. Meal was flavoured nicely however my steak was over cooked. When we wanted to order a 2nd drink,could not get anyones attention and ended up havingto order for the bar. They really need to be more attentive and get meals out faster. Ended up skipping desert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent place for nice evening dinner!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After four great weeks in NZ we finally stopped in Nelson. In the Relish we had a great dinner on the terrace with a spectacular sunset and a great view to the sea. Good place. Good food. Good service!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great harbour view and nice coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant has a super sea view , is sunny and had pleasant decor. The coffee was good and the food selection also. You can sit outside on the deck to eat if you wish. There is good carparking nearby and a lift for any elderly/disabled patrons wanting to access the restaurant. I have had dinner and afternoon tea at this restaurant and recommend it as worth visiting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expensive and very small meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My chicken main was very small, no vege or salad and expensive.Steak was ok but again no sides.Took a long time for food to arrive.Wine $10.50 per glass.We were disappointed and won't be rushing back.It was interesting as we dined out last night at another local restaurant and it was much superior and cheaper.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relishdining, Owner at Relish Waterfront Dining, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback

All our meals are cooked fresh to order. A 300gr Medium rare steak will take a minimum of 30 minutes to cook.

We offer a selection of side dishes (vegetables, salad, potatos, fries and breads) to accompany our meals.

We have a wine list with over 30 wines and a selection beers and liqueurs to choose from. Our wines sold by the glass start at $8 per glass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relish Waterfront Dining also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relish Waterfront Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.