We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go In the Off Season!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahuna Beach Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahuna Beach Holiday Park
Save
You added Tahuna Beach Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   70 Beach Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Go In the Off Season!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was a massive campground! We went at the tail end of summer and it was largely deserted, so had a lot of the facilities to ourselves, but I can only imagine how noisy and busy it would be in high summer. Not for the faint of heart! We happened to like the sound of the planes coming and going but that might not be music for all. The washrooms were clean and tidy, kitchens also although we only washed up there. We liked the easy access to the beach. Check in staff was helpful and friendly and we could park our RV pretty much where we liked. Using the sani-dump facility was reasonably easy but again, in high summer, could be a very busy place. We enjoyed our stay of two nights but I don't think I would come in early or mid summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Facilities were fine and there was privacy over at the far end of the camp where it was quiet, but we'd hate to be there when it was full - this was by far and away the biggest place we stayed and it just felt too big for us. Also you're right next to the airport so be prepared for the noise of planes landing and taking off (not all night but throughout the day). Not a bad place to stay if it's quiet.

Room Tip: Try to get to the far side of the camp if you're in a van.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, this is a large complex that appears to cater for young families. We were given a free reign of where we could park our Motorhome. The complex was clean and tidy. Beware the camp is on the flight path of landing and take off of commercial and private Air planes. From 7am there was a constant flow of passenger plans taking taking off and arriving. And on top of that at around 8 each morning the pa system would blast out messages and greetings. So of u are a light sleeper forget about a sleepin

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This little luxury holiday park is just amazing huge and clean. good service and feel safe. This is very families friendly park too. Though We camp beside main road it a bit noisy when cars pass by and make us hard to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights . This place is huge ......amnesties were clean ....shower was great . Dumping my waste into dump station was very convenient . After a long day outing it's nice to come back for a nice shower and a quiet surrounding . Camping ground was very safe . They had staff guiding you to your site . I would recommend this park

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This holiday park was amazing! The best holiday park I have stayed at so far. Very clean, good service friendly people.

One time there were drunk people who were having a party in the room next to us. We called security and they came with in 2 minutes! Straight away it stopped and they didn't tell them who called security on them for privacy reasons which was good!


Highly Recommended!
(P.S: there is so much to do there and is very safe for kids!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom cabin that can sleep up to 6 people. There was a pull out bed in the living area. Though the pull out was not as comfy as we had hoped. My kids 11 and 14 enjoyed the close proximity to the beach and activities like mini golf. Very family friendly and clean. It was a 15 min drive to the city centre ie shops and supermarkets. Made me feel like I was a part of the Nelson suburb, which I enjoyed tremendously, pretending to be part of the local landscape. We had a lovely unblocked view as it was low season. However we'd been told the camp gets crowded during peak season so can't give you an accurate picture what happens when it is full.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin with privacy and you may get the newer ones built at the end of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahuna Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahuna Beach Holiday Park

Address: 70 Beach Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tahuna Beach Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahuna Beach Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.