We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maitai Valley Motorcamp

Maitai Valley Motorcamp
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maitai Valley Motorcamp
Save
You added Maitai Valley Motorcamp to your Saves list
Maitai Valley Road | CMB Box 3, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Imst, Austria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was definitely the cheapest "commercial" (non DOC) campground we found on our journey through NZ. The spots were big enough, with trees. The shower was extra $2 which was no big deal (we were happy to get a shower at all!), washing machine and dryer were nice to have.
The kitchen facility was nice - with TV.
Location is great, just a few minutes from Nelson.

Compared to DOC campgrounds it has a lot more comfort and amenities (powered sites, shower, washing machine, internet,…), is close to a bigger town, but has about the same price. I just can recommend this campground!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We chose to stay here as all the adverts we had seen said six dollars each, when we arrived the price was actually eight (quite an increase really) plus an extra two for a shower. The kitchen was adequate and so we're the shower blocks although one of the women's blocks was being redecorated so I had yo walk quite far to the other one.
We cooked in the kitchen which had signs telling you what you couldn't do, felt like you we're being accused of stealing etc which wasn't very nice.
It's good value but could be better

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were more than pleased when we came across Maitai Valley Motorcamp! We were met at reception by a gorgeous wee girl learning the ropes of being an up and coming receptionist who showed us where to go and to pick any space between the trees. When we got to the right end of the camp it had such a great vibe! It was busy with backpackers and the freedom to park where you like (zero sites marked out) created such a great atmosphere. Set in a very peaceful place surrounded by trees and bush it it was so relaxing and for only $8 each! Man what a deal. Showers and toilets were clean, a little run down but no problem for us. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Beautiful tree filled surroundings with lovely river and swimming hole on tap...waspy things at the swimming hole were a bit annoying but they weren't into landing and stinging thank god. Great level and roomy powered site, private and quiet. Nice welcome from lady at reception and very flexible with rules - thank you - hope you enjoyed the chocolates. We started off with a 5 night stay and loved the area so much we added another night. Recommend a drive further on up the Maitai Valley too. Fantastic showers at a good rate. We would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Located about 7 minutes from town, away from the hustle and bustle - this spot is great if you want some peace and quiet. We stayed in our camper van. There's kitchen facilities and paid Internet service. It's 8 dollars (non powered site) per pax so that's great value for money.
Hot showers is 2 dollars for 6 mins.

Great place, clean and lots of grassland.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is not the friendliest camp site I have stayed out, but was excellent value for money and a great location. They are currently doing sites for only $6, so great for a couple of nights to explore Nelson or as stop over before getting Picton ferry. It has a kitchen and good shower facilties.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Maitai Valley Motor Camp is about 5 minutes out of Nelson, great swimming holes, golf course down the road, peace and quiet, and best of all I can take my little dog, we only satyed one night, but we have already booked in again for another weekend, partner wants to check out the cycling tracks, and I want to sit back and relax.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maitai Valley Motorcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitai Valley Motorcamp

Address: Maitai Valley Road | CMB Box 3, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 365

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maitai Valley Motorcamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.