We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room but friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Century Park Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Century Park Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Century Park Motor Lodge
197 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$70 off Restaurant Dining
Ranked #2 of 41 hotels in Nelson
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small room but friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was a pleasant hotel. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We received a coupon for coffee at a very wonderful coffee shop. The accommodations are well appointed and the bathroom was roomy with a wonderful spa bath. There is also a very nice deck. My only problem was the room size. It was impossible to move comfortably with just two of us and our suitcases.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi James, glad you could spend some time with us in December. Sorry you found the room size a little small. The smaller rooms are purpose built for the Corporate Executives. We hope that if you make it back to this wonderful area, that you let us tempt you with one of the larger suites :-) Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    36
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
225
22
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is one of the nicest motels that we have stayed at. Very well constructed so as to be quiet. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable. Great location as it is close to downtown with everything within walking distance. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. there are laundry facilities on site for a small charge. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We do hope that the rest of your NZ trip went as well as you found the Nelson area. Look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and found it an excellent place to stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful, our room was spacious and clean and it was a short walk to the centre of Nelson. The room was well appointed for self-catering with everything you needed on hand. Very comfortable bed as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi Helen, we're really glad that you enjoyed your 3 nights with us at Century Park. We hope that when you make it down South again, that we may be able to tempt you to see more of the amazing things in this area has to offer. Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed just two nights here as a base for exploring Nelson and Abel Tasman, found staff friendly and easy going, room good size, luxury and clean, location good and relaxing quiet surroundings.Would recommend to anyone staying in Nelson short or longer term.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Glad you could spend time exploring the Abel Tasman National Park, it sure is an amazing area. Let's hope you get back to stay in the Nelson area sometime in the future. Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marahau, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed one night and absolutely enjoyed it. The hosts were very friendly with local advice. The room was lovely, perfectly clean and a delight to stay in. Central location, great bed and furnishings, awesome spa pool, would recommend it for sure.

Room Tip: Spa pool! It's a must ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi Alice, it was great having you stay with us recently, glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the Century Park Motor Lodge and give ist 5 stars. The studio room was very comfortable and quiet. Receptionist very helpful. Great bed and amenities. Fantastic location. Excellent value. Easy to get to as we drove there from a southerly direction and heading north. There was a kitchenette with a dishwasher and a DVD player.We parked our higher car for free as well. It is a short walk to restaurants and shops.
Anne

Room Tip: Very comfortable, rooms all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi Anne, it was great having you stay with us recently at Century Park. Australia isn't too far away, so hopefully you will make it back so you can spend more time with us sometime in the future :-) Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Our 4 nights at the Century Park kicked off a spectacular visit to the South Island. Owners Jan & Ross were fabulously accommodating, emailing across the miles to ensure the best arrangements for 10 family members spanning three generations. Our (spotless!) suites suited us perfectly, and the beds and spa baths were beyond splendid after our rain-soaked day trips. Absolutely recommended, for anyone visiting Nelson!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi Jackie, what a wonderful bunch of people you were and lots of fun to have staying with us. Sorry we didn't manage to give you the sunshine that Nelson is so well known for, but perhaps next time you organise to stay in this wonderful area, we can turn the sunny weather on for you :-) Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Century Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Park Motor Lodge

Address: 197 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Nelson's newest luxury accommodation right at the heart of the city. A fantastic team ready to welcome you and help with your vacation needs. The best beds available in New Zealand. Come along, we would love to meet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Century Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Park Motor Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Park Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.