We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Admirals Motor Inn

Admirals Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Admirals Motor Inn to your Saves list
Admirals Motor Inn
26 Waimea Road, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 57 Nelson B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the 2 Bedroom Tourist units. The unit was very dated and tired but was also extremely clean. At $130 a night for a family this was good value accommodation for those more interested in value than luxury. The reception staff were extremely welcoming and the location was excellent - in the centre of the CBD after a 10 minute walk and a convenience store nearby. We had a unit overlooking the carpark which was very quiet so would recommend this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked 3 rooms for our family as we attended a wedding in Nelson for two nights recently. We were delighted we chose this motel. The rooms were clean, well appointed and roomy. It was a perfect location for our stay, and nice and close to town. The Owner/Managers were lovely and very helpful and friendly. We will certainly come back and stayed here again next time we are in Nelson. And would recommend this motel to anyone. Thanks guys.....

Room Tip: All rooms seemed pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is by far the best value for money motel that I have ever stayed in. We were impressed by the friendly manner with which were greeted and the presentation of our room. The motel proved to be quiet despite being on a main road - our unit was probably the closest to the road. We arrived 4 hours earlier then our book in time - which wasn't a problem. The room was clean, very spacious, very well equipped and stocked with ample tea/coffee - even the milk was a large carton for 2 of us. This is definitely our 1st choice of motel when we return to Nelson.

Room Tip: Room 10. Good size, separate kitchenette, separate shower/toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Efficient heater, great shower, Sky TV and a very comfortable bed. Ticks all the boxes for me. Karen is a great host too. Although situated on a main road, I wasn't bothered by traffic noise. This is the second time I've stayed at this motel and will definitely stay again when in Nelson.

Room Tip: I stayed in Unit 4 with a car park outside, ground floor and nice outlook from lounge over a park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were initially booked into a different motel in Richmond but due to flooding were transferred over to Admirals Motor Inn. Check in and check out was a breeze as I had already paid for my booking on-line for the first motel (they would transfer the paymet for me). The staff were friendly and interested in our travels. We were in town for a wedding; upon check-out, they asked how the wedding went. My travelling group consisted of 3 single females ranging in age from 30 to 60 (approx) and we stayed in a loft style apartment. The decor could be updated (the owners are working on this) as our apartment was quite dated (wall colours, kitchenette fixtures, bathroom facilities). One bedroom had a queen bed and upstairs had two single beds. A bit of traffic noise could be heard at night but it wasn't disruptive to a good night sleep. Our one observation (not complaint) was the need for a mirror in the upstairs room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spent a few days here recently. The set up is nice, if not overly inspiring. Rooms are clean and well appointed and staff are very friendly. Best thing for us was that it's very close to the centre of Nelson...a 10 minute walk....and on the main road from the airport so easy to find.

Bed was comfortable on-site laundry room a bonus!

Didn't get to use the pool as it's out of season but it's not the kind of place you would spend the day..more like if you need a quick dip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

For a short break with family in Nelson, we found the offer of a budget room extremely appealing and suitable for our stay. The price reflected on the accommodation as advertised, the owners were in the process of updating the rooms.
Our upstairs/downstairs 'apartment' was great for our need, 4 adults (incl one couple) sharing.
Although the kitchen was quite small, our needs were met. The shower though older had plenty of hot water.
Outdoor pool was fun to use in the sunny time we stayed too

Room Tip: We were changed to room facing carpark as advised - not as noisy as facing park, they near roadside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admirals Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Motor Inn

Address: 26 Waimea Road, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Admirals Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admirals Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.