We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopgoods

Hopgoods
284 Trafalgar St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
+64 3-545 7191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $15 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Darwin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hopgoods, is relatively compact with great staff, excellent food and acceptable prices. The atmosphere is casual and romantic. A very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    74
    20
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were fortunate to get a table on valentines day and were pleased with the choice of food and the wine list with efficient but unfussy service.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We came here as part of a group, but although we had a set menu it offered a fantastic selection of four dishes in each category which was very generous. All of our courses were perfectly executed and well presented. The service was amazing. When I saw that it was tripadvisor's top restaurant in Nelson, I had no trouble believing the rating. Superb and well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous Anniversary Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recently we booked in at Hopgoods for our 27th wedding anniversary dinner. It was one of the nicest meals we have had out for a very long time. The food was absolutely beautifully cooked and presented and the service was outstanding.
Everything was perfect - thank you for a great dining experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best food bistro in our visit to the South Island! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had visited a lot of places but Hopgoods was the best in quality & price over all the restaurants we visited! We love all the dishes that we had & the service was superb! We highly recommend this place to any Nelson visitors!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopgoods also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Hopgoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopgoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.