We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the second time.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hopgoods

Hopgoods
284 Trafalgar St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
+64 3-545 7191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 143 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $15 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“the second time.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

we went in Nelson a few year ago and already we find this restaurant. We were really estonished ti be Inside again. The service is fun and perfect. The menu is really inventive and the meals are delicious. You find here something more than a restaurant in a touristic town: the hopgods is a restaurant where you like to spend your time, where you appreciate the décors and certainly your drink and food. A place finally where you feel good

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    74
    20
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Up to Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were recommended to go here so had high expectations. We were not disappointed. The staff knew their food and wines and were most helpful. Beautifully presented and prepared food and a very good wine list.
The tables are possibly a little close together but this is being really picky! A top spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very very very good ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a great dinner here, it is a simple place that does elegant food brilliantly. I also very much appreciate that the wine has a guide and is very well priced. The pork main was exceptional, although I would recommend that you get a light starter as it is rich, and so are many of the starters. Highly recommend that you give this place a go

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best food in Nelson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Far and away the best food in Nelson. I enjoyed the choices of local wines and beer as well as the best food we had in Nelson. We had dinner there twice

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My partner and I have dined at Hopgoods several times and the food, the service and ambience is simply superb. The restaurant certainly lives up to its reputation as one of the best eating establishments in the country. Looking forward to eating there again soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopgoods also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Hopgoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopgoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.