We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value and customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were upgraded from a hotel room to a lovely mini apartment/suite. The reception staff was superb, friendly and fast. They promptly and happily responded to a couple of requests we had (e.g. I couldnt find the hairdryer). The best part of our booking and stay happened the day before our arrival when I received a call from Sharyn at the hotel. I had booked our three night stay in two parts and made a mistake with the dates on the on the second stay and inavertently booked it for the wrong day. Sharyn called me to query whether this was intentional or if I would like her to correct the booking. This was much appreciated as I had not realised my mistake and would have been very sad to have cut my stay short due to the wrong dates booked! This was good thingking and great customer service. Well done Sharyn and the Mercure Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell your fellow travellers about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    233
    57
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
327
25
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amberley, New Zealand
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had been looking forward to a stay here for several years but with family living in Nelson the opportunity hadn't arisen. At last ! We upgraded to an apartment in the 'village'; spacious, warm, accomodation with separate bedroom, lounge area, kitchen facilites and bathroom overlooking a pleasant, grassed 'village green'.
The whole complex exudes a peaceful and welcoming atmosphere, enhanced by the helpfulness and general attitude of the staff. It is also quiet, being below the general level of the nearby highway. I have only marked the room down slightly because of stains on the carpet !
Dinner in the Orangerie restaurant is of a high standard with a good selection of choices and wines for all courses.
It was an event worth waiting for, and to be repeated !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. Thank you also for notifying us about the stains which we will have serviced.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely room in the hotel with everything we needed for one night. Staff were extremely helpful. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and the good service was maintained despite being handicapped by a power cut halfway through. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit to sunny Nelson will be as pleasant as the previous one but with out the power cut.

Kind Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews and looking at online . We were in Nelson celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary . My husband was extremely impressed with all this amazing little village atmosphere presents .Could not rate it high enough .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Nelson in the near future.

Kind Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an excellent facility being designed on the 'English Village' terrace housing concept. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable. The atmosphere was very good as was the value. The location was quiet even though not far from the local airport, no large planes here, and handy (10 minutes) to Nelson. It was only let down by the lack of a family type restaurant and the poor insulation between units, an early show next door was heard too clearly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint handcrafted resort village with a charming hotel & fully furnished one and two bedroom cottages overlooking colorful cottage gardens and a spacious village green. The hotel was voted best in the country by HANZ in 2008. Enjoy the resort's award winning restaurant, health spa, gymnasium and solar heated pool. Monaco has a range of conference & function facilities. Located just 5 minutes from Nelson Airport and 15 from central city on the pretty Waimea Estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.