We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Rooms excellent for size. Bit dark and noisy with tiled floors. Few cobwebs . Great shower.
Kitchen bit small and not planned to well. Needed a bigger bin to recyle. Small blind needed to front door for privacy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco, and sharing your feedback with your fellow travelers. We appreciate your feedback regarding the lighting and tiled floors and will look into ways to illumine the room to make brighter and look into supplying a larger Recycle Bin when we next look at refurbishing the Hotel.

I have passed your comments regarding the noted cobwebs in your room onto our Executive Housekeeper who is currently in the process of arranging a full ‘bug spray’ in all of our Hotel rooms. This is very difficult given the high occupancy we maintain, but appreciate this is an imperative action and aim to have this spraying completed in the next few weeks.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    233
    57
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
327
25
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

When we first arrived in our room we felt it was quite dark inside so we moved to the Riverside apartments which were a lot brighter. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the only issue is that when we changed rooms (just in other side of drive) we were not told that it would cost more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our Resort spacious, clean and comfortable. We are very proud of our ‘English Village’ feel and love that you also enjoyed this special touch. We do in fact have a wonderful Restaurant and Bar - The Orangerie; on site and this is open for both Breakfast and evening meals including pre-diner drinks. I am very sorry you did not get a chance to experience our delicious menu and sample some of our sumptuous beer and wines. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future where you can delight in our Restaurant ambience and atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed here with my family while roadtripping the South Island and I still think about how amazing, beautiful and comfortable it is. I would absolutely come back!

Room Tip: The family two bedroom is the homiest, most comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reiveratsea
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Created in an old English Village style it has seperate streets and apartments. Ours was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The whole setting was very pleasant to stay in but the only thing missing was a bar for a pre dinner drink or just to relax in after a long day

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had a lovely weekend at the Monaco Grand Mercure. We booked a pamper package and the room was very comfortable. We were very impressed with the lovely bathroom and loved the gas fire in the lounge area. The bed was very comfortable and the whole experience was really relaxing. The staff were pleasant and professional and we had breakfast at the Orangerie, and this was very nice. I would love to see robes provided for guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco, and sharing your feedback with your fellow travelers. As you have mentioned, we do not supply bath robes to our guests, however we have noted your suggestion and will take this into consideration when planning improvements to our service. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed with the bathroom and lovely gas fire in our lounge areas. I am very pleased to hear you have found the staff pleasant and professional and that you enjoyed your breakfast with us in The Orangerie Restaurant. I will pass these wonderful comments onto our Teams and will look forward to welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We couldn't find anything available at some of the more economical choices in the area, so we booked the Grand Mercure. It is indeed a high-end location. Our apartment was very nice with full kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a very nice bath. For the price it was reasonable, but since we were only there for a stopover, we would have chosen something else, since we didn't have the time to really enjoy the place. If we were looking for a nice romantic getaway, we would certainly consider this one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint handcrafted resort village with a charming hotel & fully furnished one and two bedroom cottages overlooking colorful cottage gardens and a spacious village green. The hotel was voted best in the country by HANZ in 2008. Enjoy the resort's award winning restaurant, health spa, gymnasium and solar heated pool. Monaco has a range of conference & function facilities. Located just 5 minutes from Nelson Airport and 15 from central city on the pretty Waimea Estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.