We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arrow Motel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arrow Motel Apartments to your Saves list
Arrow Motel Apartments
24 Golf Rd, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Nelson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were lucky to be gifted a two-night stay at this motel for our wedding anniversary by family. The idea was to explore and see Nelson, without children as tourists since it is our home town. As we didn't have a car available, it was great to have so many cafes, pubs and restaurants all within an easy ten minute walk. The taxi-fare into town was hardly anything either. The motel unit was well-equipped, clean and tidy, had a wonderfully comfortable bed, and the bonus of a spa bath. Being on the flight-path for the local airport, we thought it would be noisy at times, but the rooms must have been well-insulated with this in mind, making the noise minimal.
Thank you for a wonderful stay. We'd gladly recommend this motel to anyone looking for a quality home away from home atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

John & Sally are such great hosts, friendly, accomodating and interested in anything you are going to do or want to do. Our accomodation which was upgraded (lovely surprise) was immaculate. From the Merc for shopping to the Limo to our drop off at Intercity nothing was any trouble. Our whole weekend was so relaxing and stress free. We will definetly be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Planning a wedding in Nelson when you are from away is not so easy.
But John & Sally went out of their way to assist us in as many ways as they possibly could and to accommodate the wedding party and any other guests who chose to stay.
The rooms were all clean and beds very comfortable.
Facilities provided made us all feel right at home.
It is so close to the beach and cafes those who were not as busy as others were able to wander off and enjoy the surroundings.
They were also very helpful with all other aspects of the wedding preparations.
We used their Executive Limousine's for transporting us all.
All in all it was a fantastic week.
Thanks heaps for helping to make the wedding such a successful and happy event.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It is great to have John & Sally back at Arrow Motel Apartments, along with Karl & Fiona as hosts. They are all so welcoming, friendly and can never do enough to ensure our visits there are comfortable and stress free. They have refurbished almost everything since their return.
The rooms are always immaculately clean and tidy. The beds are so comfortable and cosy. The kids enjoy the pool.
The passion for recycling and eco friendly nature of the motel is commendable.
The free shuttle service to the airport is wonderful - makes you feel like a movie star when they rock up in the Merc!
The beach, restaurants, playgrounds, parks and other essential amenities are only a few minutes stroll away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

A big thanks for the friendly welcome and stay. Awesome spot to relax and close to the beach and shops.
Rooms were ideal for our needs and were clean and tidy. We recomend this place to everyone and will definately be back.
Once again thanks from the far north.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We travelled as a family of four and found that the apartment was spacious enough for us all. The standard of cleanliness was excellent. The beds were large and comfortable. The motel was close to restaurants and amenities. It was just a short walk to the beautiful sandy beach. There was plenty of information available for us to be able to plan our stay in the area. John was extremely helpful and able to give us advice on where to go to get the best out of our stay. He also offered us the use of sun umbrellas and inflatable tyres in order to enjoy the outdoors and rivers. The kids enjoyed the use of the swimming pool. He was able to give advice on places to eat and give us an idea of cost and standards. John also gave us contact phone numbers of accommodation in the area that we were heading towards. This enabled us to get somewhere sorted before we left nelson. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed two nights in a one bedroom apartment which was cramped. The bedroom, sitting room and bathroom were tiny and all the furnishings were old and needed to be replaced. The apartment was clean and hosts very friendly which was great and the shower worked well.
The funniest thing was having the tannoy from next door giving the campers their morning wake up "Good Morning Campers, the weather today is going to be 22 degrees and fine, Happy Birthday to X wishing you a lovely day". It was like Hi di Hi. The noise of the aircraft overhead was a nuisance. We could definitely have done much better in Nelson.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrow O, Owner at Arrow Motel Apartments, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Amanda, sorry to read your stay was not as you and your friend had anticipated. We have been back operating this property just a couple of months and are in a refurbishment phase. Unfortunately we were unable to have all of our rooms upgraded before the Christmas break. However we'd like you to know the room you stayed in now does have some refurnishing completed and we are awaiting curtain fabric, to finish the job. We are sorry we were unable to upgrade you to any of our larger units.
This motel does have the advantage of being close to both the airport and beach. With design and construction of the complex every effort has been made to minimize the intrusion of external noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrow Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow Motel Apartments

Address: 24 Golf Rd, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For accommodation in Nelson, stay in our self-contained motel apartments in Nelson, New Zealand. We offer you the choice of family, self-catering motel apartments including one bedroom motels, studio motels and fully self-contained holiday homes. All this with bed and breakfast facilities. Arrow Motel apartments central Nelson location is only a few minutes drive to the Nelson city centre, the Nelson airport and within easy walking distance of Nelson's Tahunanui beach, local shopping, bars, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arrow Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrow Motel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.