We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely live up to their reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Cafe

Indian Cafe
94 Collingwood St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
(03) 548 4089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 117 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“definitely live up to their reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Having had many meals here over the past few years, can say the food is fabulous, the servings generous, and when we took the grandkids last Friday night, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, plus its always been a warm and toasty enviornment in winter

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    52
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

For an Indian Restaurant this one is the best in Nelson. Always warm in winter and the staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfills Gap, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We went back next day for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Clean, friendly, hot and great food. We enjoyed it so much we went again the next day. You won't go wrong if you like Indian food. Very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Faith in reviews justified”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This restaurant certainly matched the reviews it has received. Out telephone booking from Blenheim was handled with charm and efficiency and the welcome we received was warm and friendly. My wife and I hate to be rushed when eating out and the wait staff were happy to honour our request for good intervals between courses. The number of people dining gave an indication that the food would be good and we were not disappointed. The tandoori chicken was melt-in-the-mouth good and our mains were exactly as ordered. We have eaten Indian food in towns and cities all over New Zealand and this has to be among the very best. We are thinking up reasons to go back to Nelson and visit the Indian Café again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Wonderful if you eat in the place. But if you take advantage of ordering from the free house pub, forget it. You may die of starvation before they get the food to you.
A quote from the manager " we deal with in house orders first"
Shame but try little India, they deliver in record time and are just as good.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Indian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.