We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Motor Inn

Armada Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Armada Motor Inn to your Saves list
Armada Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   500a Thames Highway, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Oamaru
Upper Hutt
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just a Motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights with a group. Units very "tired" and not good value for rate charged.
Very sparce amenities - bring your own soap, hair shampoo etc.
I suggested on check-out that even one more mirror per unit would help as only one is in bathroom ?
Very noisy with trucks passing from 4am each morning.
Any upgrade should include double glazing to cut down noise level.
Next time in Oamaru I will choose something better equiped and closer to centre of town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffWilson, Front Office Manager at Armada Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
We regret that this was not an enjoyable stay. As we were fully booked over that period we had to use our older rooms which are kept for our budget travelers. Some of our rooms do have double glazing for the prevention of noise. Soap and shampoo dispensers are available in all rooms. We appreciate the comment about the mirror and have taken steps to rectify this. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We found the Armada comfortable and adequately equipped. The management, Pauline and Cliff, were friendly and helpful. It is a long way out of town so you do need your own transport. We stayed three nights and found it very pleasant. There was a restaurant next door but we didn't try it so can't comment.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

We booked a holiday house that ended up being run by Armada. The house is located a minute down the road from the motels and is completely self contained. We had looked at two bedroom motel units which were a similar rate but we had far more space in the house. There is a queen in one bedroom, and two singles in each of the other two bedrooms. It is ideal for a longer stay as it has all the amenities of a home away from home. It is on the main road and we noticed the traffic noise but the kids didn't hear a thing. The house was immaculately clean but lacked any extra homely touches as it appeared that excess furniture and pictures had been removed at some stage. The owners, Pauline and Cliff were very friendly and were more than happy to let us have access to the house early. The house has an attached garage with internal access, laundry, separate shower and toilet, and a spa bath. My one gripe would be that there is no alarm clock and no mirror near a power point. It is a bit of a distance from the town so I would not recommend it if you don't have transport.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

Shabby run-down property. Lost our reservation. Poorly run

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

This was a terrific motel, Very comfortable and roomy. Microwave, toaster, jug etc. Lovely hot water. Could not have asked for more. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Very roomy and comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothin
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armada Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Motor Inn

Address: 500a Thames Highway, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Armada Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Armada Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.