We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Chelmer Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Oamaru
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here two nights on a powered site in our campervan. Cost was $21 each per nite. We didn't like our allocated site as it was right in the middle of the camp by the ablution block so requested to change to one near the trees, which was no problem. The facilities were clean, great untimed free showers. Quite a small camp compared to other top tens but still very nice. Close to town, right next door to beautiful parks and bird aviary, and little dairy across the road. Must have been pretty good for us to stay two nights. Wifi was good, and they hired bikes but by the time we asked for one they were all rented out already, so maybe get in quick if you want one.

Room Tip: The campervan sites by the trees are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    46
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we spent our first night in a motorhome in Oarmaru, the site is well loated near a park and the town, we went on the penguin evening trip which was excllent, it also include a tour and history of the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this campsite on a powered pitch in February 2013 as part of a motorhome tour of the South Island. This is a very pleasant little site, but the best part is it's location just across a small footbridge over a stream from the beautifully maintained public gardens. A very pleasant 15 minute walk past the roses, floral displays, acers and tree ferns takes you to the town centre with it's wide Main Street and Victorian precinct.

The campsite itself has pitches slightly smaller than those to which we are accustomed in the UK, but we have found that to be the case throughout our tour of NZ.

There are two toilet and shower blocks and I preferred to use the newer one which is closer to the campsite office. This was very clean and well maintained and has the best showers I have found so far on this tour, with plenty of hot water at a good pressure.

I would recommend a visit to the Yellow-eyed penguin colony in order to see the penguins come ashore an hour or two before sunset and to watch the seals basking on the sand. There is no need to join a tour for this trip. Simply drive your car or motorhome, park up and take an easy stroll along the cliff top paths to the various viewpoints.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This campsite was located about 10 minutes walk to town and the shops through an attractive park.
The staff were really friendly and the facilities were good, especially the immaculate shower and toilet block, although a TV room would have been nice.
There is loads to see in around too including the penguin colony and the Moeraki boulders a few miles away.
Its not a huge park and all the better for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is our 2nd visit here and we were not disappointed. The park is in tip top shape and our cabin is very clean and comfortable - a minor drawback is having to use the amentities block for shower & toilet but these are so close and so clean it's really not an issue. The staff are very friendly and helpful too but the best part is the walk into town through the Public Gardens - what a treat! The gardens are immaculate with lovely lawns, garden beds full of gorgeous flowers, ponds with ducks and beautiful trees. Heaven to relax in with a book or just soak up the tranquillity. Went down near the harbour and happened to see the penguins coming in just on dusk. So delightful! And all for free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We only passed through Oamaru very quickly on our South Island road trip, but the Top 10 was a really pleasant place to say. Immaculately clean, modern toilet/shower blocks and a very clean cabin. Location was great and an easy walk down to the centre of town - wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if we were in town. If I'm being picky then it could have done with a slightly newer bed and a much larger TV in the cabin, but otherwise very good.

Room Tip: We had the cabin closest to the ablution block and it was excellent. Didn't look like there woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have passed through Oamaru several times, but never stopped long enough to enjoy what Oamaru has to offer in and around the North Otago area.We decided to stay at Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park Camping Ground. We have stayed there for the last 4 years with our Families for 10 nights over the Xmas period ever since. There is so much to do and see, like the Blue Penguin Colony,Moeraki Boulders, Hydro lakes and Heritage Buildings just to name a few. This Top 10 would have to be the best Holiday Park we have stayed at. They have Motels, Cabins, Powered site and tent sites. They have 2 of the cleanest abolutions / Kitchen blocks, They are checked out during the day to make sure they kept spotless. It has a childrens playground with a springless Trampoline next to the BBQ area for all to use. Across the Bridge you can take a walk through the Oamaru Public Gardens through to the Bird Avery, on the way you will pass another huge childrens play ground to die for. We would recommend you stay for a few nights at Top 10 Oamaru Holiday Park to explore what the Oamaru District has to offer like we have, you will be very surprised.
Murray C

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 30 Chelmer Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.