We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Chelmer Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Oamaru
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Parked our campervans here for one night. Nice spot friendly staff. Didn't really know what was there to see but stopped anyway. Ended up being a great small town. Friendly people. Some great galleries and coffee shops. Chek out the stems punk theme the town has. Very interesting.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    46
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had our own camper van when we stayed here and we'd already stayed in about 10 Top Ten parks throughout NZ. We were greeted by an empty office, then by an unfriendly member of staff. They closed the set of toilets next to the camper section which meant that we had to walk all the way over to the chalet ones. When I went to do my laundry, the staff were using the guest laundry instead of their own private one right next door. We were assigned a spot and then went out for a bite to eat(taking our camper) & when we got back, someone else was in our spot and we were told to move spaces as the staff couldn't be bothered to tell the others they'd parked in the wrong place. They closed the dump station at 5pm which meant that we had to wait until 8.30 the next morning. It was THE WORST park we've ever stayed in, closed facilities, unhelpful & unfriendly staff and we were NOT made to feel very welcome, the only reason we stayed was because we'd already paid for the penguin trip before we got there.
Top Ten should seriously reconsider having this place on their list.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

great place, clean, friendly, best ablution block ive seen

Room Tip: any would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This place is amazing. When we arrived we were helped by Steph and she was so helpful. Fantastic, thank you so much. Cant wait to come back to the friendliest campground

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balclutha
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Normally Oamaru would be a drive through town for my wife & I. We Recently stopped with Grandchildren in tow. Stayed at the Oamaru Top 10. A beautiful clean park. Close to everything. Walking distance to the town, next to the beautiful gardens & great community playground. We rate this park & service up there with the best. The staff & facilities were A1. A very well maintaned park with very friendly & helpful staff. The little town also has alot to offer. More than just penguins. The historic buildings are amazing, steam punk is a bit different. We walked around the walking track at the harbour area & the grandchildren had a splended time onthe steam punk pennyfarthing swing. This place is a must!

Room Tip: A hidden gem you must visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We tried to use Top 10 sites wherever we stayed in New Zealand. The standard was always high and the accommodation clean and comfortable. We used self contained cabin units which had bathrooms and limited kitchen facilities sufficient for a breakfast or a takeaway evening meal. Linen, towels and soap were always included. They were also easy to book ahead and would undertake to book local attractions for you. The Oamaru site is conveniently close to the town and is only a five minute drive from the penguin colony. We found the service here very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Oamaru top 10 holiday park is the worst place I have ever stayed in. I have never been treated so appallingly in my life. The manager was extremely rude, judgmental of my weight, age and maturity. I felt discriminated against and in general was disgusted in their behavior and attitude. We were wrongly accused of damaging a bed and were made to sleep on a mattress on the floor for two nights. Would never recommend this holiday park to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 30 Chelmer Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.