We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were so lucky ..... knock knock and nobody was home !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmac Farmstay

Glenmac Farmstay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oamaru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenmac Farmstay
Save
You added Glenmac Farmstay to your Saves list
477 Gards Road | 7K R D, Oamaru 9494, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Oamaru
singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“We were so lucky ..... knock knock and nobody was home !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband read raving reviews regarding this farmstay and insists that he must experience it. When we arrived, there was nobody around at all, only 5 chained, barking dogs and 2 sheep. We decided to look around and when I took a peep at the room, I almost fainted. It did not look like a human abode, more like a shed for animals. It did not take much effort on my part to discourage my normally easy-going husband to forget about the stay and move on. We are so so lucky !

Room Tip: Stay away, far far away !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmgirl61, Owner at Glenmac Farmstay, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
I realize time has gone by since this review was posted but still feel I need to reply.
First of all these travellers were not booked in, obviously we were either not at home or out on the farm when they called in. We welcome people to call in but not to freely go into buildings unless invited. Maybe we are too trusting.
I have no idea what buildings they "peeped" into but was certainly not our farmhouse and accommodation.
Maybe it was our shearers/backpacker accommodation where casual workers for local vineyards and orchards look after themselves. It is their responsibility for cleaning etc, same as renting any property long term. I am not their mother.
I am sorry these travelers missed out on our country hospitality that so many, many people from all round the world have enjoyed and a number of these have returned and some more than once or sent their friends. We have made many lifelong friends because of our farm hosting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Glenmac Farm and her hosts Kaye and Keith offer a great place to stay for anyone looking for real people, a real farm and real life adventures. Our stay in Feb 2011 saw us in the main house, in a big bedroom with wide windows and lots of air all day and night, with a view over their fields with sheep, cows and horses wandering by the window. The place is a hiker’s delight, with wonderful high country. And oh yes, Keith lent us one of his dogs –and Penny followed right along .. no prompts.
Food was good solid, appetizing farm cooking. Lots of it. Everything you could want for breakfast. Lunch we did out at the Flying Pig or a winery on our own – this area might seem like the back of beyond, but we found lots to do during the day (read below for horse trekking adventures!). Dinner, preceded with cheese and crackers and pate, served with wine and the company of the 2 – 4 others staying – creating a great evening of conversation with people from all over the world. The showers were hot with lots of water – and a bathtub – Yippeee! Oh yes, an internet – wireless. Sit on the big porch in the mornings or afternoons or evenings and chat, or read a book – or go have a snooze in the hot part of the day. Kaye and Keith are lovely people sharing their century real farm home .
Go for sure it you want the real deal – don’t go if you need fussing over, or shiny modern splashy furniture and snazzy bathrooms- stay home if this is what you are after or go to a “chain five, mucky muck place “ . This place is for people who want to “live “with the genuineness of a farm and folks who have forgotten more than we will ever know about living with the rhythms of the land. That is why we go.
About the horse trek: boy oh boy did we choose right. I wanted to live on a real farm , with real people and go riding- The kind of riding with open spaces, not a stable of “horse for hire”, a ride across great landscapes without boundaries or time commitments, on a horse that was not flea bitten and many rider ruined. To ride with one or two or three people, the guide there to show us the way . To ride high on the land and see far beyond, to saunter along on the trials beneath and wade through steams. And the horse would become like my own (well al least a little familiar with me) .. be willing to respond to my rusty riding skills and not need to be prodded and kicked and reined to move along. My dear husband had not ridden before so he needed a big , calm , gentle horse that would not toss him off or make him hate the experience. We got it all. ALL of IT!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUROW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

I found Glenmac an amazing Kiwi Highcountry experience. Hosts Keith and Kaye go well and beyond the call of duty introducing you to kiwi farming and culture - go the Highlanders !(North Otago rugby speak !!).
I was dissapointed to see a poor review of a terrific place. i found the activities fitted around what was happening on the farm at the time which was great ! In fact I decided to relocate to Kurow.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

The Glenmac Farmstay was the most disappointing experience we have had with a B & B in New Zealand.

The promises on the web site and the depressing reality of this Farmstay are night and day. They promise a farm tour by four-wheel-drive, hand feed pet sheep, sheep dog display and horse riding on their site. When we arrived none of those options were remotely available. Instead we got a half-hearted greeting by Kaye. She complained about the drought and how they had to sell their stock. The only animals in sight were 2 horses but Kaye said that they had “gone lame” when someone tried to ride them earlier that week. She said one horse didn’t make it through the winter. She said the sheep and cattle were up in the high country so the only activity was to walk up the dusty, barren hill. The other guests there when we arrived were sunbathing due to lack of anything else to do. The location of this farm is quite far from any other entertainment options, the nearest town Kurow is 15 km away.

If the lack of a “farm experience” was a disappointment, there was also our disgust of our room. The $160 “ensuite” room was nothing more than an outbuilding (Shed or hired-help housing?) with a bad coat of pink paint and an old TV. It was dirty and had heaps of flies on the windowsills. The horse stable was directly behind the building and the windows were open which let the flies in. There was a bathroom heater for heat which was burned and looked like a fire hazard. One look at that room and we did something we have never done before; we decided to cut our loses and move on. Kaye made us pay $100 for canceling. We did not want to be stuck in that unhygienic, depressing place in the middle of nowhere.

Due to the drought, and harsh realities of farm life, the owners obviously had decided that they could make more money out of tourists than on sheep. Don’t waste your vacation time visiting Glenmac. If we had it to do again, we would have found a Qualmark approved farmstay.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Glenmac Farm is an excellent option if you want to get a 'real' New Zealand experience. We stayed there from 12th-14th May, 2008 and had an excellent time.

Kaye and Keith (the owners) are great hosts who let us into there home and made us feel really welcome and showed us how things are done on the farm. The rooms in the house are large and well equipped with electric blankets for those cold New Zealand wintery evenings!! The rooms are very reasonably priced and it gives you that homely feeling!! $25 each for a double room is an absolute bargain!!

Things to do on the farm include some great walking(tramping) and horse trekking but if you want you can also get stuck in on the farm! Bur for those who just want to relax then this is the perfect place. If your travelling for a long time and are missing a few creature comforts then again this is perfect for that homely feel where you can watch programmes such as Coronation Street and Emmerdale Farm!!

We highly reccommend this farmstay!!

Jamie and Vicky, England

  • Liked — Its homely feel and hospitable owners!!
  • Disliked — NOTHING!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenmac Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmac Farmstay

Address: 477 Gards Road | 7K R D, Oamaru 9494, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmac is 1580ht high country sheep and cattle farm situated in the Waitaki Valley inland from Oamaru and near to the small town of Kurow. Merino sheep and beef cattle. Horse riding/trekking, tramping and four wheel drive farm tour. Near to fishing rivers (guides available), fossil trail at Duntroon, penguins at Oamaru and many other local attractions.Winery nearby. On Alps to Ocean cycle trail. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmac Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.