We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moeraki Boulders, Big and small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moeraki Boulders

Moeraki Boulders
Moeraki Village, Oamaru, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Attractions in Oamaru
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mystical Moeraki Boulders captured at dawn.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Moeraki Boulders, Big and small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Moeraki Boulders are just off the main road between Dunedin and Oamaru, These are large boulders, big and small on the Moeraki beach, a natural occurring feature on the beach. Takes about 10-15 mins to get down to the boulders. Great to stand on these or just take a look at this unusual sight. Cafe at the top of the hill to have a coffee or a bite to eat as well.
An amazing sight to see and unique to this area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    203
    75
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I decided to stop here & have lunch at the cafe before walking down to see the boulders. Having seen pictures online i thought that there were only 6 or 7 boulders but there are clusters of them all over the beach. It's amazing to think how long they've been there & it makes you wonder how they came to be as some of them are perfectly smooth, while others are broken in half
If you're in the area i definitely recommend stopping here as it's a lovely beach & the boulder are quite interesting. They also make for some great photo ops

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a look - but not a big detour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Was surprised to learn you have to pay to go down to the beach by the cafe (we parked further along in a free car park). Enjoyed our walk along the beach and taking photos of these interesting boulders, but didn't think they were really spectacular. Would visit if passing but wouldn't make a big trip to see them.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Arrived at low tide and after a short beach walk we saw the most amazing boulders on the beach! They were spectacular. Great photo opportunities.
In retrospect we would park at the cafe and access the beach. We parked in the general car park up the beach and with all the rain that was experienced in NZ prior to our arrival, it was a struggle for the kids to get up and down to the beach from the erosion.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Loved this place!
You can park at the cafe/shop and pay a donation to walk directly to the boulders or go further down the road and walk along the beach for free. Either way, the boulders are definitely worth visiting, just for the fascination value!
Touch them, climb on them and take plenty of photos.
Best time for photographs would be at sunrise, but we got there around midday and still enjoyed seeing them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moeraki Boulders also viewed

Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 

Been to Moeraki Boulders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moeraki Boulders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.