We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Comfortable and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AAA Thames Court Motel

Save Saved
You added AAA Thames Court Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AAA Thames Court Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   252 Thames Street, Oamaru, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Oamaru
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Clean Comfortable and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at Thames Court for 3 nights with friends. The hosts Janice and Noel were very friendly and helpful. The close proximity to town is awesome as I like walking and you can walk into town if you want to go out for dinner and drinks at night. Also shopping, not to far to carry your purchases home. The units are very clean and are serviced every day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAAThamesCourt, Owner at AAA Thames Court Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your great feed back, appreciate you taking time to write a review. Hope we can host you again in the future when you and your friends come back down to Oamaru for a break away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A friend and I were on a South Island trip and Thames Court Motel was the best motel we stayed at in 3 weeks. The motel is on SH1 but built side-on so that traffic noise is not intrusive. Our unit, which had been recently refurbished was very pleasant and comfortable. It included extras such as paper towels in the kitchen, tissues in the bathroom and a choice of trim or full cream milk. We were welcomed at Reception and given helpful information about where to find a good restaurant. The one night tariff was the cheapest of all the motels we stayed at on the trip. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAAThamesCourt, General Manager at AAA Thames Court Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate our guests taking the time to give us a review, sharing there opinion on our Motel and service. Happy you enjoyed your expierence at our Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

As a group of Red Hat Society ladies we have now stayed at this motel 3 times and are more than happy with the friendliness of owners, who it has to be said could not be any more helpful and accommodating when we are booking for a stay even though sometimes I have to change the number of units due to ladies pulling our for various reasons. Or another wanting to join us. We appreciate the comfort of the beds and overall cleanliness. Just a really nice place to stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: For a group the 2 bedroom units are ideal, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAAThamesCourt, Manager at AAA Thames Court Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you Barbara for your review. We always enjoy having your group stay with us, fun seeing you all dressed up in your Red Hats etc. We realise how hard it is for the organiser of a group to organise accommodation with people changing their minds, pulling out or wanting to join the group. We appreciate your correspondence with us to keep us up with the changes to the booking. Keep up your good work and will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms, fantastic service, accommodating to our late check in. Everything I asked for when booking was arranged. Older faculties, but perfectly maintained and clean. Would recommend this to anyone staying in Oamaru.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAAThamesCourt, Owner at AAA Thames Court Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are working through replacing the older furniture and realise it is getting a bit tired in the room you were in. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed one night in a family apartment with 5 adults and 2 children. The accommodation was so suitable and very spacious for all of us. The family apartments were around the corner from the main road which minimised the traffic noise, and were very private. The apartment was extremely clean and the hosts were lovely. Really enjoyed our stay here. One tip, take-away across the road not great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAAThamesCourt, Owner at AAA Thames Court Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback, pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Family unit, they are popular because of the fact they are quiet and spacious. Sorry that you did not have a good expierence from the Takeaway across the road!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The owners of the Thames Court were extremely helpful when my rental car died. They picked me up from the iSite and took me back to my rental car the next morning. After dealing with the car and the rental car agency (on Jan. 1 when nothing is open due to the holiday) I appreciated the extra service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAAThamesCourt, Owner at AAA Thames Court Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Pleased we could help you out in time of need. Hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and that your car behaved itself !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in unit 9 which is one of the 2 family units, they have 2 bedrooms and a very generous sized living area. We have a baby and a toddler so the unit was great as plenty of room for toys etc! Unit was fairly dated but had everything we needed and was comfy and clean.

Only suggestion I would have is more play equipment, there is a huge back lawn and a trampoline or more play equipment would be great!

Room Tip: If you have kids, room 10 would be the best as it backs onto the big back lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAAThamesCourt, Owner at AAA Thames Court Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Appreciate you taking the time to write a review, we are away's open to suggestions.
We are so lucky to have such a large garden area for the guests to enjoy and the children to play in, so will be looking to see what we can do, to make the playground more enjoyable for children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AAA Thames Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAA Thames Court Motel

Address: 252 Thames Street, Oamaru, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oamaru
#6 Family Hotel in Oamaru
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AAA Thames Court Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Janice and Noel welcome you to AAA Thames Court Motel, Oamaru, New Zealand, we have 10 spacious, comfortable, self catering Motel Apartments, offering the choice of Studio Apartments, One Bedroom Apartments, Family Apartments and a Fully Serviced 3 Bedroom Holiday Home. Our Motel has a Qualmark 4 star rating. Quality and Service guaranteed. Proud to be a member of the "Host Accommodation Group of New Zealand". AAA Thames Court Motel is the "Home away from Home" for your Holiday Accommodation in Oamaru, New Zealand.AAA Thames Court Motel is within easy walking distance to Restaurants, Bars, Blue & Yellow Eyed Penguin Colonies, Museum, Art Gallery, Historic Precinct.For Business Travel, and your Oamaru Business corporate accommodation needs, Free "Zenbu" Secure Wireless Internet is available (100 mb). We provide Restaurant charge backs, and meals can be delivered to your room, from a very popular Oamaru Restaurant. Corporate Rates. Oamaru has array of attractions you simply won't find elsewhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your AAA Thames Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaa Thames Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AAA Thames Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.