We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shiv Vilas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Shiv Vilas Resort to your Saves list
The Shiv Vilas Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   N.H.-8, Jaipur Delhi Highway, Kookas 303101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kookas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel really does have that wow factor and was the very best hotel we stayed in during our tour of Rajhastan. From the moment you arrive you know that you are somewhere very special. The welcome is the best that we received anywhere and we absolutely loved it, especially the cheeky little man who played, sang and danced for us with his tambourine playing companion. Everything about it is good, the staff are wonderful and those little touches were very impressive from the fruit in the room, silk slippers, hairdryer, iron and ironing board right down to the free shopping bag. The lobby is magnificent with its enormous chandelier and statues complete with real pearl necklaces. The swimming pool was inviting and the pool guy even chucked a ball in for me to play with.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh S, General Manager at The Shiv Vilas Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Shiv Vilas Palace!!!

Thank you for spending a few minutes in giving your valuable feedback. I am extremely delighted that our services and hospitality has touched your heart. This feedback helps Shiv Vilas team in retaining the standards and it gives a great motivation in pushing the people in their professional careers.

It was a great pleasure of having you with us at Shiv Vilas and we would be really glad to serve you again with the same approach.

Warm Regards,
Mahesh Kumar Sharma,
General Manager,
Shiv Vilas Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    37
    20
    6
    13
See reviews for
65
49
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spent 2 nights in this Delightful mock-palace (ignore the reviews which denigrate this resort as pastiche; most Indian culture is OTT by western standards). Suspend your disbelief and enjoy! We were booked into this hotel by GO HERITAGE INDIA TOURS. If you plan to tour India, this is the BEST tour company by far. Everything from the garland/champagne welcome to the rooms, restaurant, pool, service, reception/check in was SUPERB. We would definitely stay here again and use GO HERITAGE INDIA

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh S, General Manager at The Shiv Vilas Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Shiv Vilas Palace Jaipur !!!

Thank You for your valuable feedback..
I am glad to hear that the hospitality of Shiv Vilas went beyond your expectations. Your comments are of great importance to us in motivating the entire team and sustaining the standards of Shiv Vilas Palace.
It was indeed a gret pleassure of having you with us at shiv vilas and we look aheead to welcome you with the same warmth.
warm regards.
Mahesh Kumar Sharma
General Manager,
Shiv Vilas Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is one of the hotel where you are served legendary, traditional welcome with shennai, tilak, garland gives a fantastic 1st impression. the lobby, with some amazing statues, paintings,
the rooms, the pool, the restaurants, the food all beyond expectations

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh S, General Manager at The Shiv Vilas Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from shiv vilas Jaipur !!!!

Thank you for giving your precious time on your valuable feedback on your recent stay at Shiv Vilas Palace . I am extrimely delighted to note that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and have been shared with the team of shiv vilas.
I Thank You for your valued comments and look forward to welcome you with the same touch of hospitality.
Warm Regards
Mahesh Kumar Sharma.
General Manager.
Shiv Vilas Palace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Shiv Vilas is an over the top Rajasthani fantasy palace, only six years old, I believe, with some of the most gaudy and eccentric decoration we have yet encountered in a hotel anywhere in the world. Stand aside Emperor Akbar, the Sharma Group has left no expense spared in its flagship 78 room property. Massive scarlet crystal chandeliers hang over the main lobby, itself adorned with lifesize white marble sculptures of courtly ladies dancing, and Art Deco style vaulting of bosomed maidens holding up the ceiling, which itself is decorated with Baroque theme frescoes. White marble bowls filled with delicate pink petals, the liveried doormen, and many guilt-framed mirrors add to the sumptuous feel. You can also browse Vanity Fair and Men’s Health at the magazine rack beside the heavy wood check in desks. But don’t try to take them away!

The pool is large (25m long) and impeccably tiled, with showers under a Mughal style pagoda, which auto start when you step under them. Amid the palm trees in the pool courtyard, a lifesize white marble crocodile sculpture, and several huge marble lions, a fountain and yet more nubile stone maidens provide further decoration. There are rows of inviting sun loungers with neatly folded striped towels on. There is some greening of the tiles in the pool, which suggests that a little more aggressive pool chemical regime may be required, although it was well chlorinated.

The spa is not cheap (Rp 3,000 per treatment) but my wife was satisfied with the service but felt it might be a tad overpriced. The gym has free weights up to 25 kilos, a barbell with plates up to 56 kilos and several machines. BBC World played pleasingly on the flat screen tv throughout my session. It is apparently open from 9am to 7pm.

We were in room 3502, which is a small room, but boasts a large terrace and its own Mughal style pavilion with a personal sunbed. Pigeon droppings are a problem on the terrace, and an issue the hotel management might look into. The terrace had lovely views over the pool and towards the green fields beyond, where goats and buffalo grazed peacefully. The shower’s hot water was erratic, possibly because of the low occupancy when we were there. However, the housekeeping department was very efficient at topping up the mineral water in the room and tidying everything almost too often. Laundry was not cheap, but was swiftly returned the same day without needing to pay the 100% same day surcharge - as it was our 13 pieces cost us Rp2,000 total, so budget travellers should do it in the sink or take it outside...

The room décor was, again, over the top, with an oil painting of a lion attacking a horse, heavy drapes everywhere and a cooling green marble floor. The lighting in the room was feeble, and made it difficult to read after dusk. The four poster bed with its excess of organza curtains made for a clichéd, but memorable, stay.

Breakfast was interesting, with nine members of staff serving just the two of us. The coffee wasn’t great and nor was the selection of pastries, but the attention was nice. In short, Shiv Vilas is trying to be the Bellagio, but with a uniquely Jaipuri style and management.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh S, General Manager at The Shiv Vilas Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Shiv Vilas Palace Jaipur !!!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Shiv vilas Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Warm Regards;
Mahesh Kumar Sharma
General Manager
Shiv Vilas Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Pros- Good façade. Courteous staff. Hint of luxury. Good place for a loud Indian Wedding of Business Nouveau Rich people.

Cons - Garish inside with a lot of effort at creating the Raj Experience for foreigners but looks easily faux and loud. Tariff & Food prices non commensurate with property. Would rather stay in a real palace conversion to hotel property for this rack rate tariff. Distance from main town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh S, General Manager at The Shiv Vilas Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Shiv Vilas Palace Jaipur !!!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Shiv Vilas with a wider audience in such details. I do appreciate your kind words on our Pros & cons
We do look forward to having you back with us.

Warm Regards;
Mahesh Kumar Sharma
General Manager
Shiv Vilas Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is just magnificant. The service was attentive and the food was delicious. The design is indian/italian and its beautiful. When we stayed there, nobody was there so we has it all to ourselves. The pool was great and the great service of the staff, including the general manager, was very pleasing. I highly recomend that you stay and this palacial hotel.

Room Tip: Level 1 is a good floor, air comdition good on that floor but no need to use lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh S, General Manager at The Shiv Vilas Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Shiv Vilas Palace Jaipur !!!


Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Shiv vilas Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards;
Mahesh Kumar Sharma
General Manager
Shiv Vilas Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Upon arriving from Agra, we arrived at The Shiv Vilas, located in Kukas. We were very hot and tired, we entered through the palace gates, immediately in front of the hotel, a beautiful, set of fountains, it was Taj Mahal symbolic! We walked up the steps onto the red carpet, to a royal fanfare of music, only to be greeted by the whole hotel team, headed by the general manager Muhesh Kumar Sharma. We were given drinks, flowers, and chilled face towels and immediately started to take in this most beautiful hotel. The entrance palace hall was very grand, even by Michael Angelo standards, a stunning centre piece chandelier, ralphelite art, and a floor design taken from The Taj Mahal.

We were led upto our bedroom, which was spacious, and had been individually designed. Having modern facilities with a modern appointed full luxury bathroom, we were thrilled! We had chosen this hotel, a little way out from the bustling Jaipur centre, to relax after busy days sight seeing.

We dined in the restaurants of an evening and at breakfast to 5* cuisine, the service was attentive, personal, and yes the food selection was awesome!! We were a family of 4, and very hard usually to please! It was good value..

The second day, we were celebrating 20 years of marriage, Mahesh found out and sent hotel staff to our room to decorate with romantic heart shaped balloons, a beautifully decorated cake, flowers, wine and personal note of celebration.. We were left speechless, this gesture left us emotional and happy at such a kind personal gift from the general manager.

We had left only after 3 fantastic days in Jaipur, The Shiv Vilas, was our castle for such a short time, we were treated like royalty!!!! a independently owned hotel of such magnitude.

We will return again to this rare precious gem in Jaipur..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh S, General Manager at The Shiv Vilas Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Shiv Vilas Palace Jaipur !!!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Shiv vilas Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Warm Regards;
Mahesh Kumar Sharma
General Manager
Shiv Vilas Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shiv Vilas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shiv Vilas Resort

Address: N.H.-8, Jaipur Delhi Highway, Kookas 303101, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Kookas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kookas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kookas
#3 Spa Hotel in Kookas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kookas
#4 Family Hotel in Kookas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shiv Vilas Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creation of this palatial structure took us a full Six years and we opened our gates to receive our distinguished guests from October 20, 2006 onwards. The hotels exterior is reminiscent of the palaces of Rajasthan featuring huge frescoes hand carved meticulously in ‘pink sandstone’ and white marble. The hotel is dazzling white by day & turns sunset yellow by night with our illumination providing the guests a spectacular view from all angles. Adding to the hotels grandeur is the magnificent ‘atrium’ lobby which reveals sheer grandeur. The interiors are a fusion of the Victorian, Persian & Mughal architecture. Combining the latest technology with a long-standing reputation of Indian hospitality, “Shiv Vilas” symbolizes the very essence of Indian Culture, embracing the best of the new alongside traditions of the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Shiv Vilas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shiv Vilas Hotel Kukas
Shiv Vilas Hotel
The Shiv Vilas Resort India/Kookas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shiv Vilas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.