We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport to your Saves list
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Airpark Drive | Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“great staff very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Flight delayed so had to stay an extra night in Auckland - no problems with finding us a room at good price. Comfortable beds and the bath was great to soak in after a long day
Staff are wonderful and a credit to management

Room Tip: You can leave your car for small amount until you return to Auckland!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Phila987

Thank you for your positive comments about our staff and rooms.
I'm glad that we managed to make you forget for a moment the inconvenience of a disrupt flight.

Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    358
    126
    43
    28
See reviews for
177
356
66
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we stayed at this hotel on our way out to oz and o our way home.staff so friendly,helpful.rooms big for familys close to airport with free shuttle service to and from airport. happy to stay again. thank- you heartland hotel staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: something for kids to do at the hotel????
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Angela W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We are proud to read that you enjoyed our rooms, and service. We are currently working on getting some entertainment for the kids, so hopefully next time you come through, it will all be there.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

have stayed at this hotel many times over the years under three different names. this was the first time we didn't get a complimentary breakfast with the room. When we stayed on the outgoing trip it was the bella vista and breakfast was included. When we arrived back from europe 10 weeks later it was to find the name had changed and so had the deal without being told until we arrived at the breakfast room. Otherwise service was fast and friendly and the rooms were clean and reasonably spacious for an airport hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear dorothy f,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the confusion that the change of management company created on your return from overseas.
We are in the process of creating some packages that will be available on our website and hopefully you will find one to your satisfaction.
Thank you for your positive comments about our service and rooms as well as your constructive points regarding the packages.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome again in the near future
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Checked in after a long drive as my whole family and I were all flying to Rarotonga to celebrate my Son's 21st the next day.
we were all rather exhausted and wanted some dinner & drinks. The Lovely Bar Lady Juanita was so charming she invited us all into the dining room and even went the extra mile by setting up tables for twelve members of my family & taking orders for meals & drinks. When returning she placed the correct drinks & food in front of the right person which we were amazed by her consistency and work ethics. We never once left our seats she had drinks, mains & dessert orders & water all coming through to our table as well as taking good care of other guest that were in the dining room as well. We over herd guest thanking her for the awesome service. I think you would be proud to know that she has a great relationship with us and other guest she just never stops always on the go. Strong work ethics and believes in her product deliverance strongly. She kindly spoke up to inform me that the food & beverage team work very hard and she is happy to work along side her team members. p s: she deserves a reward. I would hire her in a flash to come work for me as a general manager of our restaurant bar & wine estate. Juanita you are a Gem. Until next time take care my family will definitely return to Heatland Hotel Auckland Airport.

Room Tip: Restaurant Staff Superstar Rooms Extremely Clean Location Just right Value for our Money Keep up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Tere m

Thank you very much for that lovely comment about our Food and Beverage staff and in particular Juanita.
I have printed your comment in our staff room and gave a copy to Juanita.

Once again, thank you and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We left our car here for 10 days , staying at the hotel only one night on our evening return from overseas. Fairly typical faceless airport hotel but efficient pick up and drop off, doing a special trip to take us to the airport as we were running late. Clean, quite large room, good breakfast. We'll definitely use it again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear ojowatson,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed our car parking facilities as well the cleaninless of our room and our breakfast.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future

Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

On contacting the hotel mid evening for a pick-up from Auckland International Airport and being told it would be 20 to 25 minutes,we waited and waited for over 40 minutes in the cold and rain.When the shuttle did arrive there were about 20 people waiting all trying to pile in.Needless to say everyone couldn't fit in. Two people were sitting on the floor! No seats or seat belts!!This is highly illegal.

After all this hassle I shall be staying at the Novotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Garlic 009

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience regarding the shuttle.
I'm not too sure which date you stayed in September but we did had quite a few airline disrupt where unfortunately we had to bring a fair amount of people to the hotel between the two terminals.
As much as possible , we try to attend as quickly and efficiently as possible to every transport requests.
Once again, please accept my apologies and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had to stay an extra night in Auckland after flights were cancelled so decided to just get something close to the airport. I wasn't expecting much from a basic airport hotel but it exceeded expectations. The free shuttle arrived very quickly and we were there within 5 minutes. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were spotless and it even had a spa bath. I didn't eat dinner but had a lovely cooked breakfast. I would definitely go here again - great value and great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Moff111

Thank you very much for your review.
I'm glad to read that we exceed your expectations with our service, staff and food offering.

We look forward to welcome again.
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Address: 14 Airpark Drive | Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 5 minutes drive of Auckland International and Domestic Airport, Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport offers a convenient, comfortable, clean, affordable and spacious airport stopover accommodation solution for individuals, families or special interest groups. Other great benefits include FREE local phone calls FREE WI-FI FREE airport shuttle pickups and drop offs, friendly and welcoming yet informal kiwi style hospitality. Our property features an outdoor swimming pool and spa, plenty of onsite parking, conference facilities, a breakfast room and a lobby bar serving light meals and refreshments. For a more subtantial food offering there are several eateries within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Hotel Airport
Ventura Hotel Mangere
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.